We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Celebration Excellent - But bring your own breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Lynchburg, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Year's Celebration Excellent - But bring your own breakfast!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The New Year's Eve celebration was quite wonderful and my husband and I were delighted to get away for 24 hours! The complimentary breakfast the next morning, however, was quite a disaster - the hotel should do a MUCH better job regarding feeding it's "morning after" guests. No coffee the morning after "New Year's Eve" - completely unacceptable!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Marcia T, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We apologize for the inconvenience experienced during New Year's Day. We are aware of the issues and challenges presented and have corrective measures in place for next year and upcoming holidays. It is unacceptable by our standards and we will be better in the future. We appreciate your review and I am sharing it with our staff. Thank you again for choosing the hotel for your accommodations and we hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,511
    597
    163
    72
    29
See reviews for
482
764
81
787
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Couldn't help but spread a little hometown pride by reviewing the Grand Old Dame. My husband and I stayed for the New Year Celebration this year. Check in was quick and the staff was very pleasant.

The room was clean except for one of my pet peeves which was mold on the tiles in shower. I couldn't believe what I was seeing - almost made me cry as I expected much more from this hotel! Was pleased we did not have to play with the thermostat. Never had to touch it.

The ballroom where the event was held was large, tastefully decorated. The food was really quite tasty for a buffet. The dessert and coffee buffet at 10:30 was a little sparse but also tasty.

Our overnight rest was peaceful. For such an old building, I really felt the soundproofing was quite good.

We had the breakfast buffet in the Regency Room on New Year's Day. This room has recently been updated and they did a good job in keeping with the historic characteristics of the building while freshening things up a bit. The food was fresh and warm.

If you are visiting Roanoke and want to partake in the nightlife, Hotel Roanoke is really convenient. We stayed in this time, but in the past have stayed and walked to the downtown area.

BTW, you don't have to pay for parking sometimes, you just need to know where to look. We parked on the street right by the O Winston Link Museum. There are no time restrictions there from, I believe, 6pm to 8am; otherwise its 2 hours. By parking here, you can get on the elevator to the covered walkway leading to the front of the hotel.

I still think the price is a little high for our area but we were looking for a treat. I felt we got what we were looking for in the end.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grammatopandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear grammatopandj, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am sharing your review with our staff and assuring that we pay closer attention to details regarding the inconvenience you experienced. We appreciate your support as a local member of the community and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our travels brought us to Roanoke again (actually, we were just passing thru this time). Fortunately the Hotel Roanoke, always our first choice in Roanoke, had vacancies so we made a reservation. We found no changes from our last stay-everything was still top-notch. The evening was bitterly cold, so we decided to stay in this time and visited the Pine Room Pub. The food and drink was great, but the atmosphere is unmatched. It felt like we were sitting in one of those great classic Christmas movies, like Holiday Inn or White Christmas. The Pine Room was originally a World War II-era Officers Club for the Army post that was here then, so the feeling is probably not much off the mark. Real wood, classic design, cozy-I definitely recommend giving it a try if you stay at the Hotel Roanoke.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear swatkins01, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the return patronage and are honored to serve you during the holiday season! I will share your review with our staff and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel was recommended by our son who travels to Roanoke a lot on business. The experience was awesome. Food was excellent and the entire staff we dealt with was fantastic. I would recommend using the valet service since the parking lot is somewhat remote to the hotel. We sleep on a king bed at home so the double bed was tight. We will stay here for all future trips to Roanoke.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear William M, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and I am glad to see the recommendation was a success. We look forward to serving you again if your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, CT
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed 3 nights during our annual family visit to the Roanoke area. In previous years we have always made a special trip to the Hotel to see the beautiful festive Christmas tree display. Staying in the hotel was as nice as the holiday decor would suggest--clean, comfortable furnishings, generous room, attention to detail, friendly staff, and we loved the view. Had a very comfortable king bed, and a roll-away for our daughter. We didn't get a chance to eat in the dining room, but heard high praise of it! We used the valet parking, which was quick and courteous. Only negatives are that hall noise was audible at night, and it took 2 phone calls (separated by hours) our first night to the front desk to get shampoo--we were told that the housekeeping person was new. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauriemiok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear lauriemiok, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations during your extended stay. We appreciate your return patronage and are honored to be a part of your holiday festivities, I will be sharing your review to have corrective measures implemented immediately. We need to be better and I thank you for sharing your experience. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the Star City, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Hall, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I spent Christmas Eve at this hotel for a special getaway. All in all it met our expectations. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas as evidenced by the large numbers of people who came through the lobby and other common areas to view the many hand-decorated Christmas trees that are a tradition here in Roanoke. Our room was a bit small by overall hotel standards, but otherwise OK except for the very loud noise made by the air handler. Since it was a cold night the handler turned on and off every few minutes which made sleep somewhat difficult. We did not eat in the main dining room but did visit the pub which was very nice. We also opted for the buffet breakfast on Christmas morning which was excellent. The overall experience was very good and a cut above most other hotels in this price range that we have stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank retiredvaprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear retiredvaprof thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored to have served you during the holidays and being a historic hotel, we do have various room types that exist. I do hope if your travels bring you back to the area, that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Now that we have family in Roanoke VA, my husband and I spend more time in the Star City. It is not always possible to stay with our family so we decided this time to try the Hotel Roanoke. We spent 2 wonderful nights enjoying a city/mountain view, easily walking to a delightful and vibrant downtown and meeting our family in the Pine Room restaurant (in the Hotel).
The Hotel Roanoke has history, panache, friendly staff and great room service. It may be a very old hotel but it has been carefully updated. The parking valets made our stay easier as they were always on point with our car. The grounds are so lovely also.
We will never stay anywhere else. This is the best way to enjoy such a lovely city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathryn u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear kathryn u, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored and privileged to serve you and are excited to be your hotel when visiting the Roanoke Valley. We look forward to serving you again and hope you enjoy each and every stay with us.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 40 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing