We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice hotel for a holiday getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Union Hall, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A nice hotel for a holiday getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I spent Christmas Eve at this hotel for a special getaway. All in all it met our expectations. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas as evidenced by the large numbers of people who came through the lobby and other common areas to view the many hand-decorated Christmas trees that are a tradition here in Roanoke. Our room was a bit small by overall hotel standards, but otherwise OK except for the very loud noise made by the air handler. Since it was a cold night the handler turned on and off every few minutes which made sleep somewhat difficult. We did not eat in the main dining room but did visit the pub which was very nice. We also opted for the buffet breakfast on Christmas morning which was excellent. The overall experience was very good and a cut above most other hotels in this price range that we have stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank retiredvaprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear retiredvaprof thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored to have served you during the holidays and being a historic hotel, we do have various room types that exist. I do hope if your travels bring you back to the area, that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,467
    581
    159
    71
    28
See reviews for
472
747
79
754
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Now that we have family in Roanoke VA, my husband and I spend more time in the Star City. It is not always possible to stay with our family so we decided this time to try the Hotel Roanoke. We spent 2 wonderful nights enjoying a city/mountain view, easily walking to a delightful and vibrant downtown and meeting our family in the Pine Room restaurant (in the Hotel).
The Hotel Roanoke has history, panache, friendly staff and great room service. It may be a very old hotel but it has been carefully updated. The parking valets made our stay easier as they were always on point with our car. The grounds are so lovely also.
We will never stay anywhere else. This is the best way to enjoy such a lovely city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathryn u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear kathryn u, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored and privileged to serve you and are excited to be your hotel when visiting the Roanoke Valley. We look forward to serving you again and hope you enjoy each and every stay with us.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stopped in Roanoke on our return from Christmas break. It had been 28 years, almost to the day, since we stayed at the Hotel Roanoke, and we were amazed at what they've done with the property! Everything was decorated for Christmas, which contributed to the charm. Everyone was gracious and welcoming. Our room was on the Executive level with its own lounge. Dinner at the restaurant was unbeatable! Our food was on par with fine restaurants in major international cities, service was perfect, as was the ambience. Our bed was very comfortable and the room overlooked a courtyard. We were able to wander around the newly updated downtown area which is connected to the hotel via a glassed-in walkway spanning the railroad tracks. We loved reading about the history of both the hotel and town, which added to the experience. When in Roanoke, stay here!

Room Tip: The Executive Level is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReddogTechmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear ReddogTechmom, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. Welcome back! It was absolutely wonderful to read your review and we are honored to have served you again. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay as well as the ambiance and we hope if your travels bring you back to the Roanoke area, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Admittedly, my daughter, son-in-law, grandson and I only travelled to Roanoke on 12.27.13 to visit Black Dog Salvage en route to Wake Forest, NC. It was a side adventure and we struck gold with this hotel. The many lobbies and nooks were splendidly decorated for Christmas with themed trees and winter décor at every twist and turn. The hotel bar was bustling, folks in fancy dress were milling about, and a guest was playing the piano, oh my! From there, believe it or not, it got better. Warm chocolate chip cookies were handed out at check-in and the room was nicely sized, plush décor, snowy sheets and towels and all was super clean. Friendly staff promptly delivered a roll away bed for my grandson who claimed it was "super comfy". I would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: As we arrived late and w/o reservations, I don't have a suggestion, but our room on the 3rd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catcat6327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear cynthiak717, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We always enjoying wowing our side trip guests and hope that your visits warrants another trip some day! We look forward to serving you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Hotel Roanoke has always been a beautiful place to visit. The renovations kept the old character intact while adding modern luxuries. The bed was very comfortable, the room quiet an restaurants excellent. The location is convenient to downtown sites and shopping. If we are in Roanoke again we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Vallane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Vallane, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate your returned patronage and thank you also for the kind words. We look forward to serving you again if your travels bring you back to the Roanoke Valley.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were so charmed by this old, huge Roanoke hotel. It is well run, beautiful and charming. The bathroom was updated and super clean. The bed was comfortable and the whole experience was so pleasant. A quick walk over a covered sky bridge to downtown shops and restaurants. Best of all it was a great deal at $118 total for a king size room. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Elizabeth703, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We can't wait to have you back and look forward to serving you again! Thank you for visiting us during a very special time of year here.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesapeake, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is wonderful. The staff is outstanding. Enjoyed every minute of our stay. The food is exquisite. The stay was relaxing and fun. We had time to visit relatives who were very impressed with the hotel. Any thing we requested was bought to us in a very timely manner. The cookies were delicious-as usual.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Peggy C, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It was wonderful reading your review as we strive daily to present the absolute best in product, service and experience and it's wonderful to see it come together for our guests. I hope if your travels bring you back to the area, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing