We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

My DH and I stayed at tho lovely hotel during Christmas holiday. I am originally from the area with family in town but we wanted to have a mini vacation while we were there. The room was great internet was a bit slow but great stay. the bed was a bit too soft for my taste I like a firmer mattress. The service was awesome and the decor was beautiful.
We stayed on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roninzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear roninzero, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I hope if your travels bring you back to visit family, you will again choose us for your mini-vacation. We look forward to serving you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,388
    563
    155
    70
    26
See reviews for
450
719
74
709
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fairfield,ct
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Beautiful property, we visited in December (holiday decorations were beautiful) Actually they entire property is decorated with great taste. We stayed here as it was in the middle of our road trip. I will come back just to stay here it is that nice. Not only are the rooms comfortable and pretty, the whole hotel is filled with aniques and beautiful things. The staff is knowledgable , welcoming and encourge you to explore the property.The restuarant has GOOD food and GOOD service. The price using AARP, AAA,ect is amazingly reasonable. Try this place it's a Jewel.

Room Tip: Very upscale Hilton has hit a homerun with this property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hungry_hungry_hipp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear hungryhungryhippo, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. Thank you also for the kind words and recommendations. The holidays are a special time here and we are always excited to serve guests and welcome them with southern charm to share in the season. I hope if you have the opportunity to come back and visit again, you will choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glade Spring, Virginia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

they have done a very nice job in the renovations, and this is a great place for a convention. The restaurants are good, and there is a walkway to get down town to several great restaurants. Our room was excellent, and we would go back again without hesitation.

You do have to pay for parking to stay there which is a negative

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gladebaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear hospitalguyonweb, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the recommendation and hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Hotel Roanoke is adjacent to downtown and three museums (the O. Winston Link, the Taubman, and the Virginia Transportation Museum. Our room had a great view of the train tracks, the downtown landscape, and the Mill Mountain Star. The room was huge not including the living room of the suite. comfortable beds, quality linens, aromatic toiletries, and the wonderful breakfast buffet. A professional and competent staff. A great value as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Thomas R, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored to serve you during the holiday season. I hope if your travels bring you back to the area, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed over the weekend to spend time at Down Town Roanoke's annual holiday festival. The hotel is perfect location for access to the top restaurants and festivities. The rooms are well apportioned and the Pine Room pub is a great place to spend time after coming back from events. The Pine Room seems to have music most weekend nights - Hoppie Vaughan was playing last night and he was fantastic. The local businesses put up Christmas trees all over the hotel making helping to make for a perfect holiday weekend getaway location.

Room Tip: The exec rooms are on the first floor but the corridors have pass key access limiting noise and traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PA-VTFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear PA-VTFan, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored to serve you during the holidays and are thrilled to see you took advantage of all the great activities happening around the hotel this season. I hope if your travels bring you back to the area, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our 8-year-old son last night, and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is in a perfect location in Roanoke - an attractive, short glass walkway leads directly from the hotel to the Market Square, with lots of restaurants, walkways, small shops, and frequent events. (Last night, we stumbled across lots of happy dogs at the Santa Paws event as part of the Dickens of a Christmas event. Our waitress told us that there's an event at Market Square practically every weekend.) Back at the hotel, there was a warm fire in the fireplace in the lobby, surrounded by armchairs, plus a hot cocoa with marshmallows stand, and at least six Christmas trees, all decorated differently. There was also a swimming pool and a pub with a pool table, though we didn't try these.

All of the staff we met, from the many valets to the check-in clerks to the cocoa stand ladies, were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable, with lots of fluffy pillows and thick towels. I took one star off this review, however, because of the bathtub / shower in our room. The bath tub plug didn't work, and the shower tap control wouldn't turn properly, and was either firmly locked into the shut position, or far too loose, splashing water on the floor. Otherwise, I highly recommend this hotel - it's really fun.

On another note, please be careful to call the hotel's direct phone number to make your booking. Check the area code for Roanoke, Virginia, and don't go through any numbers that start with 855 or 800. I called an 855 number, and after making my booking was transferred to "Hilton Grand Vacations" to listen to an offer that seemed to be something out of Glen Garry Glen Ross. Book direct!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Paige W, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the extensive review as well as the recommendation. I hope you enjoyed your time here during the holiday season and I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have been a member of Hilton Honors for some time. I travel a lot for business and I must admit I was very impressed with this hotel and the staff. It was Christmas time and the tree decorating throughout the hotel may have been part of the experience, but I will be staying here whenever I come to town again. Thank you for providing a quality hotel, professional staff and affordable rates. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Cory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Cory C, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It is an honor to serve you and we thank you for your return patronage. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing