We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Nearby Hotels
$100
$97
Country Inn
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Econo Lodge Civic Center(Roanoke)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View(Roanoke)(Great Value!)
$93
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport(Roanoke)(Great Value!)
$80
ComfortInn
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood(Roanoke)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,635)
Filter reviews
2,635 results
Traveler rating
1,702
637
187
75
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,702
637
187
75
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspine roomregency roomvalet parkingthe executive loungebeautiful historic hotelself parkclassic hotelcovered walkwaypedestrian bridgegrand old hotelrailroad tracksdowntown areacookiescorner roomvirginia techcharliebrunch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,944 - 1,949 of 2,635 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We visit Roanoke about 6 times per year, and we always stay at the Hotel Roanoke due to the quality location and the way the hotel has been maintained. We would love an earlier check-in time as often we are not able to check in until 4pm or after, but other than that, I believe the staff does a very good job assisting us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank TheBirds04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear TheBirds04, thank you for your review and for your continued patronage. It is an honor to continue to serve you and your family when visiting the area. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

When I made our reservation for a 1 night stay, I knew it was a historic hotel, but to add the Doubletree name to it, made me think, something must be amiss.
The property sits just of the highway, close to a rail-yard, and downtown Roanoke. Owned by Virginia Tech and operated under the Doubletree Brand, it is one hotel not to be missed.
Old world charm abounds as you enter. A hotel, conference center, spa and an award winning conference center is a home-away-from home for many!
I booked a King room, but was given a Jr. Suite on the second floor. Even though I prefer top floors, when I was given the key and told it would work in 272 as well as 274, I knew I was in for a treat.
Located at the end of a hallway, we were thrilled with our true 1 bedroom suite. Our bedroom had a window seat, full bath, and plenty of room. The adjoining "room" contained a dining table to sit at least 4, a living room with sofa and leather wing-back chair, a Murphy bed(!)...bar area with 3 stools, lavish wet bar area, armoire', china buffet, desk, full bathroom with walk-in shower. There is also another adjoining bedroom which holds 2 doubles/queen beds which we were able to take a peak at.
We ate at the on-premise restaurant, the regency Room and were treated to live music by a 4 person band. Food was delicious and we ordered the tried and true staples of spoon bread and peanut soup!
There is an Executive Lounge, small and as far as Executive Lounges go, not that great. Offerings were cheese/crackers, nuts and a hot appetizer which had salmon in it. Coke products are available, hot cookies after the apps are removed. Breakfast was adequate, bagels, cereal, an egg quiche with salmon, sweets/fruit breads.
Our room faced the front of the hotel and just across from the covered walkway to the Downtown Area. You could hear trains throughout the stay, but nothing that really was a hindrance.
Parking was a minimal charge, with choice of valet or self-park. Work out room was small but contained all the needed equipment. Turn down service was a surprise!
Once we saw our room, we never ventured outside of the hotel!! Yes, it was that lovely.

Room Tip: Facing the back of the hotel would be a bit quieter, since the front is close to the Railroad Station
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2toots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear 2toots, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to experience many of the amenities that exist, including the restaurant. I also enjoyed the images you took of the property as well. I hope if you have the opportunity to come back and visit you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here three nights while attending the Nascar race in the area. We were in awe of the beauty of this elegant hotel built in the railroad era, and it still maintains it's stately presence.
It has been at times rebuilt, restored and conjures visions of another time.
We could only get a queen room and it was small, however it was very nice, clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was included in the Executive Lounge as our friends are Hilton Honours members. The attendants in this room are so friendly and attentive and the food is nice - like being in your kitchen but with service.
This is an amazing place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harpellroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear harpellroad, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay while here during the race weekend. I will be sharing your review with our staff and I hope that when you're back in the area that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was our first time at the Hotel Roanoke and we were celebrating our fifth wedding anniversary. It was a wonderful experience at this hotel and everyone was so polite and courteous and made us feel very comfortable and welcome. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that needs accommodations in this area. It was a fantastic stay and a beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your review and for sharing such a special moment with us. Happy Anniversary! We are honored to be the back drop of such a grand occasion and hope that we can share in this again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very nice Historic Hotel. Price was high for very average room. They charge for parking. Very good location, within walking distance to downtown locations. Staff very good. View of rail line was very limited, not as advertised in there train lover package.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Timothy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Timothy Z, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I will be reviewing your stay with our staff to see what adjustments can be made with room availability for the railroad package. I appreciate your comments and hope to see you back in the Star City soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews