We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel, service is great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, service is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel has been around for sometime... They have a lot of history, but also have redo much of the hotel. The hotel is owned by VT.

Also ask the front desk Susan or Coline and tell them what you would like.

Room Tip: Make sure to get rooms away from Train
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 92ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear 92ted, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We will pass along the kind words to our front desk staff. I hope if your travels bring you back to the Roanoke Valley, you will again choose us for your stay.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    535
    145
    68
    24
See reviews for
424
672
70
641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmville, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel Roanoke was one of the recommended hotels for the recent CityWorks (X)po. One of the grand hotels constructed by the nation's railroads during the early 1900s, the Hotel Roanoke evokes memories of the days when luxury lodging went hand-in-hand with rail travel. Today the Hotel Roanoke provides a comfortable overnight experience regardless of the purpose for your visit to the city. Its proximity to City Market allows for an easy walk to a great in-town experience. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Helen P, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I hope you enjoyed the CityWorks (X)po, such a great event! We hope if your travels bring you back this way, we will again have the opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I planned a long weekend away and were very happy with the accommodations. Hotel Roanoke is a wonder mix of old and new. The architectural features of the building are fantastic to see, the modern upgrades make the rooms extremely comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The location is also perfect to downtown with a skywalk to safely pass over traffic. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Roanoke.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sharon C, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed your long weekend, and we hope to be the spot of many long weekends to come.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is quite beautiful and a great location. Unfortunately valet lost our car keys delaying our departure. This did "taint' our experience. I rated service poorly only because they did not help with valet because it was contracted out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We apologize for the inconvenience experienced. We are reviewing this matter and ensuring that corrective measures are put into place.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Driving into Roanoke the hotel is the first thing you see, and it takes your breath away. Sitting on top of the hill resembling a Grand Swiss Chalet, the hotel is the historic centerpiece of the city, so not only are you staying in an absolutely gorgeous historic hotel, you're staying at the city's main attraction!

Everything about the hotel is amazing. Located in the heart of the city, everything is within walking distance. Self parking is very easy and plentiful, and the staff are incredibly welcoming and friendly, always willing and ready to hold a door open for you, to help with your luggage and to offer information about the area. The lobby is more like a grand ballroom and we had to sit down to take it all in before we were ready to check-in!!

We stayed in an executive suite which did not disappoint. The suite was clean, spacious and comfortable, but more than that, the living area attached was bigger than any suite I have ever stayed in. There was no reason for us to leave the suite, we had everything we could possibly ever imagine needing, including a fireplace, dining area with chandelier lighting, office space and two bathrooms. I've never experienced such luxury.

The hotel experience made us feel like a million dollars and it's now the only place we will stay when in Roanoke.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Meg J, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored by your kind words and it brings a smile to our faces when a guest feels like a million bucks. I will share your review with our staff, and we look forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We've always experienced great, friendly service. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is perfect for walking to downtown Roanoke to restaurants so you don't have to deal with the parking issue. We have visited this hotel a few times in recent years and it's our number one choice when we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Cynthia C, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored to serve you and thank you for your continued patronage. We look forward to serving you in the months and years ahead.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

..seeing the Hotel up on the hill as you arrive takes your breath away. They welcome you at the front door and you feel instantly part of the old world feel. The restaurant is great, but really spent a lot of time in the Pine Lodge visiting with friends and cocktails. The rocking chairs on the front porch are a great add..we spent time chatting late night outside. Try the peanut soup.

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely, but a view out over the mountains is really grand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Lorie M, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. Also, Thank you for the kind words and for using our hotel to the fullest! I hope you have the opportunity to come back and visit again soon!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing