We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Elegant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Doubletree hotel in Roanoke is an elegant old world hotel with so much great history. It is a large hotel and you could almost see attending a wedding for a local socialite here. We are hilton honors and were upgraded to a suite room which was very spacious and nicely appointed. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank movedsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear movedsouth, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we are always honored to serve our HHonors guests. We hope you have the opportunity to come back again soon!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    522
    141
    67
    24
See reviews for
404
654
70
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Roanoke Hotel and conference center in Roanoke Va. turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. The hotel is beyond lovely. The room was beautifully appointed and spacious. The rates for this charmer were very inexpensive for what you received in amenities The staff was welcoming and very helpful. The Pine Pub is a great place to relax over a drink and an appetizer or even dinner. The only complaint I had was the self parking which was down the hill and with suitcases to maneuver it can be a bit of a challenge. In retrospect and my hint to you is drop off your luggage at the door and then park the car. Yes I know your all saying DUH, but being tired after along trip the mind was not working. Would I stay there again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: If you possibly can upgrade to a suite, more room and charm abounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear James H, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad to read you enjoyed your time and were about to relax with us for a bit. I hope if you find yourself back in the Roanoke Valley, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was highly impressed with this hotel, the staff, and the experience staying there. I spoke with my fiance and we plan to make a trip to Roanoke specifically to stay in this hotel. It was beautiful, the staff was friendly and courteous, the food was delicious, and the location was superb. I will definitely choose Double Tree for my next hotel stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Stephanie B, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored that we were chosen for your stay and look forward to having you in the family for many years to come.

Safe Travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, VA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Roanoke. Hotel personnel were courteous and attentive. Beds are commfortable and it is very clean. Nice bar down stairs and food is good. Lobby is a good place to just sit and relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear James H, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I hope if you find your travels bringing you back to the area that you will again choose us for your accommodations. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hotel Roanoke is a beautiful facility; our rooms were well decorated, clean, and comfortable. The food in the formal Regency Dining Room was excellent for dinner and breakfast -- those are "the good" items. We were a group of three friends who have traveled all over the world, staying in first class/luxury hotels and have never complained about any little glitches. However, the service or total lack thereof in the dining room for our dinner certainly detracted from our pleasure. We had 7:15 p.m. reservations, arrived timely, and were refused seating for over 10 minutes, despite the fact that no one else was waiting and the dining room was only about one-half full. When we were finally seated we were ignored and despite our requests to passing wait-staff persons, no one came to take our drink order or dinner order. When we were served water and bread, we asked for our waiter but no one came. After about 20 minutes (I was timing this) the server came and offered to take our drink order, assuring us that he was not our waiter. Meanwhile, everyone we asked for attention spoke with other staff in the dining room but no one else came to help. After another 10 minutes the drinks arrived and after still more time the server announced that he was our waiter and that there had been a communication error so he didn't know he was "ours." He was courteous and explained items on the menu but dinner did not arrive for about another half-hour. The dining room still was not full or busy; wait staff was moving around the room but we simply received no attention. After I spoke with the maitre d' about our displeasure and disappointment, we received vouchers for the cold, continental breakfast and a letter of apology -- to the hotel's credit; however, that did not make up for the discomfort and disappointment we experienced with dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms were lovely, clean, comfortable; skip the Regency Dining Room; try the pub instead. Food is d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Pauline422, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. While I am delighted you enjoyed your accommodations, I am very disappointed to read about your dining experience and apologize sincerely for the inconvenience. We strive to provide the best in product, service and experience and your evening is unacceptable by our standards. I am immediately sharing your review with our staff to put corrective measures in place, as this is not a practice of ours, nor should it happen to our guests. I do hope if you find yourself back in the Roanoke Valley, you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again and make it right.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
147 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel brings a taste of old southern charm when Roanoke was the nexis of the old Norfolk and Western RR that O.Winston Link documented as the "Last Steam Railroad in America", The O.W. Link museum is a 5 minute walk, and downtown Roanoke is just cross the pedestrian bridge from the hotel. The hoteel's Tudor style architecture is impreessive as you drive up. If you are there for the weekend, check out the farmer's market in downtown. There are many nice restarurants/pubs/bars within walking distance. Self-parking is easy and cheap.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear jeff h, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations! I hope if your travels bring you back to the Roanoke Valley that you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Exceptional overnight stay with Hotel Roanoke. The handicap facilities were extremely efficient. Beds were comfy. Food was delicious, Staff was pleasing. What more can I say. This will probably become a tradition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Alice A, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It is wonderful to read and we are honored to become a new tradition! We strive daily to present the best in product, service and experience and it's wonderful to see it delivered! We are excited about your return and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing