We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Stay long enough to enjoy it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Stay long enough to enjoy it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A very impressive hotel. A property from days gone by. You need to make sure you can enjoy all that is offered by giving yourself ample time on the premises. I used it as a short overnight bedroom, but wish I could have enjoyed more of what this beautiful property offered. I will plan my next trip to Roanoke so it can be more leisurely and I will stay here again. This grandeur is what I expect from DoubleTree.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind comments and I do hope you will be able to return soon to experience more of the property and the area. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    522
    141
    67
    24
See reviews for
404
654
70
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I love the beds in DoubleTree hotels. They are always comfortable. The room was spacious, well appointed and comfortable. I gave the 'Cleanliness:Very good' rating because there were 2 -3 small pieces of paper/cellophane on the floor. Otherwise the room and bathroom were perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Joi K, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I hope if you find yourself back in the Star City that you will again choose us for your accommodations. We look forward to serving you!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and nice. Valet Parking 12 per day. If you park yourself you must walk up a hill. Was told valet parking 12 to park gave to guy 20. When came in realized they actually charge the twelve to the room. Nice 20 dollar tip for valet parking. Check out is 11:00. Late check out is not available even for HH member. Room service good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedmonds3576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Hedmonds3576, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I will share your review with our staff to ensure that we are communicating specifically and effectively to our guests. I do hope if you find yourself back in the Roanoke Valley that you will again choose us for your stay.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a beautiful and historic hotel. Make a point to stay here if you never have just for the experience. We were greeted by the hotel staff and they remembered that it was my daughters birthday and made a point to make her feel extra special. Even the next morning they brought her a special treat at breakfast to wish her a happy day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kristina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Kristina E, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are always honored and enjoy being the back drop of special memories such as birthdays! It's wonderful to read you had a great time and I hope you have the opportunity to come back and visit us again! We would be honored to have you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Hotel Roanoke and Conference Center is an absolutely beautiful facility with an incredible staff. Our every need was met with a friendly, accommodating staff. The food was delicious and the drinks were too! We attended a wedding and spent three nights. Our whole family had rooms on the same floor, so were able to have that "family feel" even away from home. The wedding ceremony and reception were on sight and it couldn't have been more perfect. The room was stunning.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel for any function. The lovely town of Roanoke is a quick stroll through a covered bridge. Great stay! Kathy N.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Kathleen N, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It's wonderful to read that you felt "at home" and were able to enjoy such a wonderful few days with your family. We are honored to have been the backdrop to such an incredible day and hope you have the opportunity to come back and visit again soon.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenson, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had originally planned to stay in another Hilton facility at a more central location to our touring itinerary in this area of Virginia - but both couples decided that we would prefer a more highly rated hotel. The Hotel Roanoke did not disappoint. This is an older more "elegant" hotel - but the rooms are quite comfortable, very clean, and interestingly furnished. Although we did not purposefully upgrade - we were given a outside corner room which was a little more spacious and cheerfully brightened by the number of windows present. Rooms very clean, beds comfortable, and bath linens plentiful. Only tip would be there is a charge for either self-parking or valet parking. We are all seniors on this trip and the climb up to the hotel from the self-parking lot is quite intense if you are not in great shape or have any physical limitations. Therefore, I would strongly recommend off loading luggage at the front entrance (which we did) or paying the $5 extra dollars a night by valet parking. The price of the rooms were fair given the quality of the hotel. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G0dm0ther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear G0dm0ther, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can serve you again soon!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Best stay at Doubletree so far!!! My husband and I spent the night in Roanoke on business and picked the hotel for its proximity to the city. What a surprise, the hotel, the service & we were upgraded to a two room suite. We couldn't have picked a better hotel! Oh, an hot cookies on a arrival, what a treat!!

Room Tip: Maybe on the back of the hotel, there is a train station in front, but it really didn't matter t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cateringlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear cateringlady, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored to be your best DoubleTree stay and hope that you will continue seeking out DoubleTree properties in the future. We strive daily to present the absolute best in product, service and experience and it's wonderful to see that executed. I hope if your travels bring you back to Roanoke, you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NW, Roanoke, VA 24016 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing