We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Conference Facilities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Charles, VA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exceptional Conference Facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

A beautiful property conveniently located to all that Roanoke has to offer. Exceptional meeting space with comfortable room sizes and amenities. Entire hotel staff was impeccable and the rooms were very adequate in space and super comfy beds! AND, I had the pleasure of enjoying their speakeasy! What a great offering for a private party! If only those walls could talk!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ESGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear ESGal, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. It's always wonderful to read reviews from guests that have experienced the conference center side of the property. I am thrilled you enjoyed Club Aka and had a great stay. I hope when visiting the area in the future you will again choose us for your accommodations.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,468
    583
    159
    71
    28
See reviews for
471
748
79
757
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Attractive lobby, reminiscent of past grandeur but stops there. The hotel has many rooms and probably some much better than others ,clock radio continued to show est and apparently not fixable by maid service despite notes left, tub stopper unworkable and talking in next room audible. Restaurant satisfactory but overpriced. Convenient walkway to downtown restaurants.Parking for hotel by self is $7/night. OK but not special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear joped, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced as it is not up to the level of service we strive for with every guest's visit. I will be addressing your review with our staff to put corrective measures in place and I hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Southern charm at it's best! It has to be one of the most efficient, well mannered helpful staff that I have been around in the states for a long time! Dressed to perfection from the doorman, front desk, housekeepers and even the maintenance personnel. The hotel has so much history! It is beautifully decorated, the lobby has a massive fireplace on one end and a baby Grand at the other for entertainment. There are several pubs to have an adult beverage as well as several verandas to enjoy the sunset. The food was delicious and yeah the hot cookie upon arrival. The rooms are spacious and the beds are awesome! I highly recommend Hotel Roanoke to anyone that wants to be treated like you are the only guest there! Plan to take my family there for a weekend!

Room Tip: I'd have to say any room in this beautiful hotel will be perfect! My room overlooked the beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear PoppyC64, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the recommendation and are thrilled you are planning to come back with the family. Roanoke has a lot going on in the spring and it's a wonderful time to visit. We look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for the weekend at the Roanoke which was just fabulous! every thing was in order, especially the house keeping staff were just great! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who would value good service . its little pricey but worth it !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeshaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Sesha C, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the recommendation and will certainly share your review with our housekeeping staff. I hope that if you have the opportunity to come back and visit that you'll choose to stay with us again. We look forward to serving you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starfishstarfish
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

just returned from a one night stop over in Roanoke. Made a last minute hotel change and went for the Hotel Roanoke. So glad we did. Wow! the place is fabulous. From the moment we pulled up we were treated like royalty! The bell hops were amazingly friendly and accommodating. We entered the hotel and check in was a breeze. The woman at the counter was so nice, fresh cookies were such a treat for the kids! She gave us the hotel information, even told us about the farmers market in Roanoke the next day. Provided a hotel map and gave us the hotel dining options run down. We arrived at the room and opened the door and WOW. Windows on three sides, so roomy and clean. The sun was shining in and we felt immediately relaxed. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The bell hop brought our bags up, answered some questions we had and got everything into the room for us. We will definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starfishStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear starfishStarfish, thank you for your review and for changing your accommodations to us. It's always an honor to serve every and all guests that visit the property. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and will share your review with our staff. We look forward to serving you again.,

Safe Travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwood, SD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The food was very good at the pub. Their bartenders are excellent. The catered appetizers they served were great, especially the bacon bites! The room was clean and comfortable. I had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Brett D, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I will be sure to pass along the review of the bartenders and hope when visiting the Roanoke Valley, you'll stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was upgraded to the Miss Virginia suite and this was a nice experience, with fireplace , dining room, living and seperate Master Bedroom. Everything about this Hotel from the start was great, from the valet staff , through the front desk personnel . Of course hot cookies as well :) . Excellent location with wonderful views of the area and you can walk right over to Downtown Roanoke. Oh in the Executive lounge I met the attendant Mr. Gwaltney who was magnificent, what a wonderful time I had speaking with him, he was very informative about the local history. I highley recommend this Hotel !

Room Tip: ask for the view of the mountain with the star and Downtown Roanoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear mike l, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. It sounds like you had a wonderful experience in the Star City. One that we strive to deliver to all of our guests. I will be sure to pass along the kind words for Mr. Gwaltney. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NE, Roanoke, VA 24016-2025 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing