We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Historical hotel has lots of charm and more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave NW, Roanoke, VA 24016 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Historical hotel has lots of charm and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Met a friend for a weekend away in Roanoke, VA. We stayed at this beautiful historic hotel and had a great visit. Built in 1882, this is not your average, cookie-cutter hotel! It is beautiful and grand, with a roaring fireplace in the lobby, amazing architectural details throughout, a lovely looking restaurant (did not eat there), great pub with friendly service, good munchies, and a nice beer selection. The hotel is walking distance to the renovated downtown area with many boutique shops, restaurants, an art museum, and an outdoor market. I was really charmed by the entire experience in Roanoke. Plus the Hotel Roanoke offers in-room spa services. I had been having back problems the week before I traveled and the massage cured me! Rooms are clean, beds are comfy. Only minor complaint would be that the staff did not seem too "up" on where to dine - but they were friendly and tried to be helpful and we found our own way just fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbuff_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Travelbuff_47, thank you for your review of the property and for choosing us for your accommodations. I will be sharing your review with our staff and hope you will consider staying with us again when visiting the Roanoke Valley.

Safe Travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    521
    141
    66
    23
See reviews for
399
649
70
620
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Living in the Roanoke region, my husband and I stay here occasionally for special occasions when we do not have enough time for a long weekend trip. The stays are always extremely nice. The staff is always exceedingly nice, friendly and professional. Hotel has a nice bar & is very convenient to the downtown Roanoke restaurants. The rooms are always clean & fresh, though parts of the hotel are starting to show their age & need some serious renovations. (Hint hint: NEW WINDOWS). Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear pjgator, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate and are honored that you choose us to spend your special weekends away with! We are currently in the process of replacing the windows and will be very excited once completed. We look forward to serving you again and thank you for your continued patronage.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, MI
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were here for 4 nights in March 2013. We needed to be flexible with our arrival and departure dates due to the nature of our trip to the area. The hotel was very accommodating.

The room itself was considered an oversized room so we had plenty of space. The rooms don't typically come with a refrigerator but we requested one with our reservation and it was in our room when we arrived. The room did have the single serve coffee station.

The staff was very nice, from the front desk to the valet/bellman and housekeeping. Everyone would greet you & say hello even just walking through the halls.

Our room had a desk and a sitting chair, flat screen TV and a small armoire where the ice bucket & coffee maker were stored. We were on the executive level, the lounge is only open for a few hours in the morning & a few hours in the evening so you don't have all day access like you do at some other properties.

It is very convenient to the highway and shopping and there are several good restaurants within walking distance.

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saleschick87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear saleschick87, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. It is wonderful to hear that you experienced a great stay throughout your 4 nights. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I readily admit to being a hotel-snob, but one of my favorite hotels is in my own state. My husband and I have stayed at the Hotel Roanoke at least a dozen times, including last weekend. I'm biased because this is where we stay for VT football games, but the hotel has so much more to offer. The property is very unique - a large Tudor hotel overlooking a small city (where else can you find that?). The staff is incredibly friendly, and the hotel pub is a fun, unique bar experience. The rooms are a bit small, but they are comfortable and they went through an upgrade several years ago. On occasion, the cleanliness seems to be an issue (i.e., room service trays sitting outside of a room all day long), but it seems to correlate with the times the hotel is very busy. Overall, there is an elegance and old world charm to this hotel - with a fireplace, rocking chairs along the front patio, and lots of seating areas tucked around the hotel. And you can't beat the location - a quick covered walkway away from downtown.

I do have to wonder -- for a beautiful hotel this size that has undergone several updates recently - why hasn't a real spa been built?! (In room spa services just don't count)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midlo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Lawone, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. We enjoyed the kind words and I will be sharing them with our staff. We look forward to serving you again soon and appreciate your continued patronage to our hotel.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

As a child, I always wanted to stay at this hotel. Several years ago, I finally got my wish. This was my 4th stay at this gorgeous hotel. I love the atmosphere, and the uniqueness of this property. Each room has been different, ranging from fairly small to expansive. I've found the rooms to be clean, the beds comfortable and plush, and the bathrooms small, but comfortable. The lobby is beautiful, like something from another time. The executive level has a very small lounge that offers some evening appetizers and some breakfast selections. Beer and wine are at an additional costs (around $4.50 for a bottle of beer). The evening selections on a Saturday were minature reuben sandwiches, a small salad with beef, and crackers. They offered complimentary sodas in the smaller cans, bottled water, and a coffee/capucino/hot chocolate machine. I've had drinks in the lounge with late night music. The Regency Room serves an excellent breakfast/brunch. While somewhat pricey, ($14.50 for breakfast and $24.50 for Sunday brunch), the selections are lavish, and very well prepared. The hotel is within walking distance of the very vibrant downtown area. The staff is very accomodating. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nctraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear nctraveller58, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations when staying in Roanoke. We appreciate the kind words and your continued patronage and hope that we can serve you again soon in the future.

Safe Travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

As. a Hilton hotel, this hotel offers all the amenities you would expect from Hilton. We enjoyed the concierge lounge. Well maintained. The room was clean and spacious. Downstairs was a treat. Lots of history to view. Easy walking access to the downtown shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear 2travelforever, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay and I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Safe travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

They have valet parking for a per night charge. I recommend that you use it as the hotel is up on a hill and the self parking lot is a bit of a walk. The overall hotel is nice, the lobby looks much like it did about 100 years ago but the rooms and rest of the property have been recently renovated. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff is friendly and efficient. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the hotel and found the food to be excellent. The only problem I had was a problem with my bill, but it was fixed promptly. Overall, a nice hotel and we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Robert D, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I am glad to read that you experienced breakfast and dinner in the restaurant as well that your conflict was resolved quickly. We look forward to serving you again if you find yourself in the Roanoke Valley.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave NW, Roanoke, VA 24016 (Formerly Doubletree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing