We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package!
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Conference Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have hosted annual conferences on both a regional and national level for many years. First the hotel offers excellent service. The people are extremely well trained and courteous from the AV staff, banquet, front desk..... The one day charge for conference attendees is a great concept and includes continuous breaks from 7am to 5 pm and the luncheon meal. It is nice not be charged for every small service rendered. The hotel is conveniently located to downtown. Being a refurbished grand hotel, the room dimensions are very variable depending on where the room is located. However, they are all well appointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jersbikr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Jersbikr, thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. It's always great to hear from seasoned conference planners regarding our hotel and I'm ecstatic regarding your review. I hope you have the opportunity to come back and visit and even host a conference with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I love staying at this historic hotel when we have something to do in Roanoke. The staff is very attentive (best of any hotel I've ever stayed in!) and the hotel decor is impressive. The beds are very comfortable. Because this is an older hotel that has been renovated, some of the rooms are a bit awkward. Our bathroom door opened directly into the toilet (within an inch) and there was an odd wall which jutted out into the room, but didn't cause any functional problems. This is not true with all of the rooms, but we seemed to get this strange room this time. The other downside is this hotel can be a bit chilly on very cold days. We ate at the Regency Room for dinner which was excellent. Most of the dishes are really good. They also have a great breakfast buffets which is a must do. I strongly recommend this hotel if you need to stay in Roanoke either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear KIM S, thank you for your review of the hotel and for your continued patronage. We are currently working on a renovation to update all hotel windows to energy efficient ones that won't detract from our historic nature. We look forward to your return and can't wait to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed here for many accounting conferences as well as for the Miss VA pageant. The Hotel Roanoke is top notch! It is just a beautiful hotel with an amazing staff. The food in the restaurant is delicious and the food prepared for conferences is amazing as well. The beds are very comfortable and they have the most divine down comforters. I would love to have one at home!

Room Tip: You may want to check out the layout of the hotel. Some of the rooms are located at the end of what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Teena F, thank you for your review of the hotel and for your continued patronage. We always appreciate our returned guests and hope to continue the relationship each time you visit the Roanoke Valley. I will share your review with our staff and hope to see you again in the near future.

Safe Travels,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I only stay at this hotel when in Roanoke, VA. Great place! Great rooms, nice and new fitness center! Treated well as a HHonors member! Would highly recommend!

Close to downtown Roanoke! Within walking distance to all the bars/restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schaf1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear schaf1283, thank you for your review of the hotel and for your continued patronage. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We love to stay at historic hotels. This one did not disappoint. The exterior and public areas are beautiful. Our room was small but it was expected since we were trying to save money and chose the least expensive. The bed and pillows are wonderful! We had the breakfast buffet in the morning and it was very good. There was plenty to eat but no pancakes or waffles. We enjoyed our stay. (self parking was $7.00 and breakfast was $14.50)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Ekehl, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the near future and will be sharing your review with our staff.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

You will feel as though you are living in the grand old years gone by when you stand in this lobby. This hotel is an experience rather than just a stay. As everything today is built so efficiently and generic, it is wonderful that Hilton has invested in this gem. Support their effort by staying here. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Kurt H, thank you for your review of the hotel and for choosing us for your accommodations. Your words speak to exactly the experience we strive to deliver for all of our guests and visitors and we are honored by your kinds words. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We are from Roanoke and have stayed at the Hotel Roanoke multiple times for overnight events (weddings, concerts, etc.). Our most recent visit was for a concert and we had 5 couples staying overnight in 5 rooms. We started by ordering appetizers and drinks at the pub. The service was extremely poor....pretty much unacceptable. My husband ordered a captain and diet coke. The diet coke was so flat he sent it back. The bartender tasted it and said "it's as good as it's going to get" and sent it back to him. We all ordered food...mostly appetizers like wings, flatbread pizza etc. After an hour and a 6 of the 12 dishes ordered came out. 5 of them were incorrect and the sixth was so cold it felt like it had been in the refrigerator (and it was wings!). The others continued to wait on the food for another 40 minutes.....that would be 2 hours and 10 minutes after arriving! Some of the food showed up...once again incorrect...some never showed up before we had to leave for the concert. The waiter was extremely rude and didn't even offer an apology. None of the food was comped. The combination of the rude bartender, the rude waiter and the horrible kitchen staff started this stay out horribly.

The room was fine...nothing special. We ate the brunch the next morning and the food was good....staff at the omelet station and seating us were pretty short and definitely not friendly (other than our waiter...african american guy who has worked there for years....he was awesome!)

We were shocked at the service / treatment we received. We are very easy going people and not hard to please. We do not expect extraordinary service. All we wanted was some decent food and a friendly face. We will go back because of all the events taking place there but if we ever have an experience like this I will stay at the next closest hotel.

We were there the night of January 25th, 2013.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WHITNEY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Walton_GM, General Manager at The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear WHITNEY B, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your stay. We strive daily to present the absolute best in product, service and experience and unfortunately didn't deliver with your stay. We do hope you will come back and allow us the opportunity to serve you and make it up to you.

Sincerely,
Gary Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#2 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 110 Shenandoah Ave, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#1 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Business Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1882, the fully-restored Tudor-style Hotel Roanoke is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. As a member of IACC (International Association of Conference Centers), Hotel Roanoke is pleased to offer world-class lodging facilities, including newly renovated guest rooms and 63,000 square feet of state-of-the-art conference space. The hotel's business facilities include 35 meeting rooms, a fixed-seat lecture hall, two boardrooms, conference center lounge and an elegant hotel ballroom which can accommodate up to 1,400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Roanoke And Conference Center, a Doubletree By Hilton Hotel
Hotel Roanoke Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing