We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great little get away for a day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carvins Cove Natural Reserve

Carvins Cove Natural Reserve
Ranked #12 of 68 things to do in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Troutville, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great little get away for a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We love Carvins Cove. A few bucks for all 4 of us to get in and a few more and we have a boat. Pack lunch, find a serene spot and we have a mini adventure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ievasandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    17
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a bad local "getaway"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Ample parking, beautifully maintained. Could offer a bit more to those coming to do some water activity. Perhaps row boats? Paddle boats? Or events that could educate by offering a course in studying some type of forestry? Water management? Bird or other wildlife studies? Good for biking and hiking. I've taken my kyak there a couple times, but if you do frequent it to get in the water, it is a bit pricey. Overall, not bad to hop in your car and disappear in to nature.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brendasreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First time kayaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Monday was first day for me at Carvins Cove and first time kayaking, it was recommended by a friend and I have fallen in love. Felt very safe here and talked extensively with the very knowledgeable staff about rules and safest way to have fun. You can rent kayaks, paddle boats and more! Life jackets are provided with rentals and fees are reasonable even if you bring your own equipment. Loved the views and can't wait to go back again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Misty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wildlife and relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is a great place to see wildlife and relax with the family. Many large black bears live here, as well as deer, fox, coyotes, squirrels, rabbits, bobcats, and any lake fairing species. The Appalachian trail runs through the reserve. There is easy access by driving and parking, hiking in from 2 different directions of the AT, or an easier footpath from a back road. The AT hike from Tinker mountain is very steep.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoeSwindell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“quiet with minimal use”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

There are two ways to come in to the reserve. I usually head out towards Catawba and circle in the back parking lot. There is a fee to use the reserve, but it's low. I always hike, but it looks perfect for biking and I often see mountain bikes in the parking lot. When I was there, there were NO toilets and no maps. I took a picture with my phone of the trailhead map for reference. Many many miles of trails, and I rarely see more than 2-3 bikers while I am out. I have not seen bear or turkey but plenty of deer, raccoon, possum and birds. THe trails are mostly shady, and the ratings (easy, intermediate, advanced) are pretty accurate. Perfect for trail running, hiking or biking. Lots of streams. Not many viewpoints on the lower trails-- they just sweep through wide open valleys with rocks and streams, wooded with moderate growth mixed pine and hardwoods. Many of the trails allow a loop, so you are not backtracking. Very peaceful for so close to Roanoke. (about 20 minutes from SW Roanoke). There is no hunting, so it is pretty safe all year.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carvins Cove Natural Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Carvins Cove Natural Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing