We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, great shows, great experience.”
Review of Jefferson Center

Jefferson Center
Ranked #28 of 68 things to do in Roanoke
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jefferson Center is a nonprofit organization that enriches and educates diverse Western Virginia communities by producing high quality performing arts programs, by providing long and short term rental space for community partners and individuals, and by providing educational outreach.Built in 1924, the Jefferson Center's historic facility originally served the community as Jefferson Senior High School. The high school was closed in the 70's and after sitting vacant for more than a decade, the Jefferson Center Foundation was formed to renovate the space into the beautiful arts venue that serves Roanoke and the surrounding region today. Jefferson Center offers world class concerts featuring a diverse array artists such as Wynton Marsalis, the Tedeschi Trucks Band, Del McCoury, Esperanza Spalding, Rosanne Cash, Bobby McFerrin and so many more. Additional, Jefferson Center offers long term rental space to 20+ non-profits and locally owned businesses, as well as short term rental space for community meetings, weddings, celebrations and many other events.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, great shows, great experience.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I've been going to the Jefferson Center for concerts since it first opened as a venue about 10 years ago. We've seen Bela Fleck, The Avett Brothers, and Lyle Lovett here. Most recently, my husband and I went to see Bobby McFerrin in April, 2013. The place is simply gorgeous, immaculate, and easy to navigate. The acoustics are wonderful. Really easy parking and lots of help from volunteer (?) staff to help guide your parking for sold-out events. I love this place and can't wait to attend more performances here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Punky9791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonCenter, Public Relations Manager at Jefferson Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the review. It has been an honor to bring those names and many more to Southwest Virginia since opening Shaftman Performance Hall. And thank you for acknowledging our incredibly dedicated Volunteers. As a non-profit we rely on those good folks to keep Jefferson Center running smoothly on show nights!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Fantastic Venue”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Took my husband to see Corey Smith for our anniversary. The place is beautiful and the staff was fantastic. Thanks, Fred!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonCenter, Public Relations Manager at Jefferson Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed the show. Come by and see Fred anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Glad to see this building restored”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

What beautiful architecture and the restoration work is superb. So glad it has been brought back to life in such a grand way.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kayeteekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonCenter, Public Relations Manager at Jefferson Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. Thank goodness we had a fantastic original design from the 1920's era Jefferson High School to work from! We are proud to have restored and now maintain this historic facility to further the arts in Southwest Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another Winner in Pirates”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Opera Roanoke had another winner in Pirates of Penzance. We have attended many concerts and other shows at the Jeff Center. David Wiley and the Roanoke Symphony often play there. Maestro Wiley has transformed the orchestra into world class performers

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenneth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonCenter, Public Relations Manager at Jefferson Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed Pirates and have had the opportunity to experience the wonderful music of the Roanoke Symphony Orchestra inside historic Shaftman Performance Hall. Hard to believe that hall was once a high school auditorium in the 1920's! Jefferson Center is proud to honor its mission as a non-profit arts venue and serve as this community's hub for world class art!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Intimate atmosphere”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I usually try to attend a concert here at least once a year. There isn't a bad seat in the house and the atmosphere is very intimate. The musicians they get are always top notch and we are always impressed. A must do if you are fortunate enough to get tickets to an event.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersonCenter, Public Relations Manager at Jefferson Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. Jefferson Center's Artistic Director has been programming our season series inside historic Shaftman Performance Hall for more than a decade and we'll pass along your sentiments to him directly. We'll be releasing next season's lineup soon, so keep up with us for more world class art!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jefferson Center also viewed

 

Been to Jefferson Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing