We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Authentic Cuban Food”
Review of Cuban Island

Cuban Island
Ranked #26 of 478 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Truly Authentic Cuban Food”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

What everyone else has said plus knowing it is good every time. And I adore the owner. She is a wonderfully friendly and interesting lady who loves what she is doing. She and her husband love cooking and serving great Cuban food! In Roanoke...who would ever think that!

Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    20
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better...”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Best, freshest, and most delicious Cuban food you'll find! Estela is such a gracious hostess and is very willing to take time to describe the menu to newcomers. The place is so clean you could safely eat from the floor. Home made desserts! Home made everything, really. I have had almost everything on the menu at some point or another, and have yet to find anything I dislike. Eat here! You won't be sorry!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adamthepianoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Jayawardenepura, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Awesome food and super friendly owner. The island chicken with rice and beans and plantains is incredible. Very fair price. Best cuban cafe ever. A Roanoke must!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic Cuban food. Unbelievable flan!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We bumped into Cuban Island by accident when another restaurant we had hoped to try was closed. What a stroke of luck! The Cuban Island is an incredible little eatery. My favorite is the ropa vieja. The beef almost melts in your mouth. It is seasoned perfectly. The Cuban Tacos are another unique dish. The sides are almost as good as the entrees. They serve what are, hands down, the best beans and rice I have ever had. Yucca was a new delicacy for us, but we are definitely on board. The fried plantains are the best I've had.

After our first awesome meal here, we decided to have some dessert (we usually forego the dessert menu). We split a flan. My previous experience with flan was that it was a rubbery, flavorless blob. Cuban Island's flan made me a flan fan! It is incredibly creamy and flavorful. We try to save room for a shot of espresso and a cup of flan.

The restaurant is not the greatest building with the best view (and there is a parking crunch), however the food makes it a MUST STOP in Roanoke. The prices are incredibly inexpensive. Estela runs the show out front and will explain any menu items with which you are not familiar. It is clear she and her husband care about their customers and their product.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most authentic and Tasty Cuban food I've ever eaten”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This is by far some of the best food I've ever eaten. It is authentic and made fresh every day. The fresh juices are wonderful and Inexpensive. The beans and rice are perfectly seasoned and the Plaintains are perfectly cooked. I can't say enough about this restaurant, their food and the owner. I would eat there every day if I could

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank julieannr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuban Island also viewed

 

Been to Cuban Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing