We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great atmosphere”
Review of Billy's

Billy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Billy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 478 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Salem Ave.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We first tried Billy's on the Roanoke Food Tour, and returned for dinner with more people that night. The waitress even remembered us! The shrimp and cheese grits was superb, as was everything else we enjoyed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    182
    60
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, New Hampshire, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the reasons we're moving to Roanoke”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We were in Roanoke for a not terribly happy family errand and ended up looking for a restaurant late one Friday night. Happily, my sister in law's IPhone found Billy's and made us a reservation. While we weren't very happy to be seated in the bar with the noise and televisions, the food was so heavenly, we quickly forgot about the noise. Our waiter was pure unadulterated Heaven, funny, charming, efficient, and very professional, and the food was to DIE. My brother and I ate the best shrimp and grits I have ever tasted, and the creamed spinach was ambrosial. The waiter told us that the next time we came, we should reserve one of the quiet dining rooms without a television. Cannot wait to return to Roanoke and take him up on his suggestion. Billy's is one of my five favorite restaurants in Roanoke, and just one more reason we are moving from New England to this great city.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Therry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

An extensive menu, good food and excellent friendly service from Albert. Centrally located in downtown Roanoke.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Easter brunch”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Made a reservation here for Easter brunch after Hotel Roanoke couldn't accommodate us and no regrets!
Day of reservation we called and asked for an earlier time which they graciously accommodated.
We were seated in the wonderful courtyard (one of the best kept secrets in downtown Roanoke). The weather was perfect and the firepit was lit for ambiance.
We had our own bartender outside which provided prompt service.
Waitress was professional and speedy.
The brunch buffet was quite a spread. We enjoyed absolutely all of it, especially the prime rib carving station, crab cakes, jumbo shrimp cocktail, and huge selection of desserts.
Quite a lot cheaper than Hotel Roanoke's holiday brunch, this was better food with different/better ambiance.
Give it a try and you won't be disappointed. We look forward to the next holiday brunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DR24018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Downtown Experience”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I brought my wife to Billy's for her Birthday and enjoyed a nice lunch with good professional service. We both ordered the strawberry salad, which was lacking in strawberries, but good. Especially the dressing!!! I added a crab cake, which I am a huge critical fan of, and I have to say it was awesome!!!!!!!! The atmosphere is a little dated, but overall, a nice downtown experience!! We will return for Dinner!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mckennac1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Billy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing