We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent prime rib”
Review of Billy's

Billy's
Reserve with OpenTable
Billy's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 476 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Salem Ave.
Troy, MIchigan
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“excellent prime rib”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great prime rib, excellent value, nice location downtown Roanoke, Virginia. Not much to look at on the outside of the restaurant but we were pleasantly surprised by how lovely it was inside! All the food was great and so were the staff

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CathyTroyMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    178
    60
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Daleville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place was really cool, and the food was great, except for one thing. We had a pretty large group, and at my table there were 8 adults. The sides were brought out farm house style I believe is how it was listed; no matter what its called, the sides were brought out in one large bowl for everyone at that table to share; which is fine by me until you bring out a bowl of 10 pieces of asoaragus for 8 adults, and a the same with the mashed potatoes, there was enough in the bowl for about 4 people tops. The server did bring more upon our request, but not until AFTER we made the request. Other than that one thing I would strongly recommend this place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food, relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went for my birthday dinner. My husband and I both had filets cooked to perfection. (No small feat considering he likes his medium rare and I like my medium well.) Our daughter had the shrimp tacos and was thrilled with both the taste and portion. It was a wonderful meal in a relaxed environment. Service was just right, not too much or too little attention to our table. The price was very affordable for the quality. (One possible concern is the noise. I imagine it can be loud from from the bar later in the evening. We were in the back and it was quieter, but the tables were very close together. The ladies next to us were really enjoying their special drinks but it was all in fun.)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LDGinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

After dining at Billy's I am at a loss for the appropriate words to describe my experience. I had many dishes and shared with many people. Crab cakes, grilled wings (with balsamic fig!), grilled oysters, mac n cheese, nachos, and 2 of their Kobe Wagyu burgers. Everything was perfect. I look forward to coming back to try the other dishes. If you are a Roanoke local or just visiting give Billy's a try, you will be more than pleased.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dwalker297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, great service.”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We visit Roanoke annually, and had been monitoring the rehab of this building. We were so happy to see it was finally finished and the restaurant was open. We ate lunch there. The restaurant had been open about 2 months at the time, and they'd been doing lunch for about 2 weeks if I recall correctly. I had a BLT - pork belly, fried green tomato, lettuce, spicy mayo. It was delicious. The sweet potato fries were a good accompaniment but were little over done. My partner had a burger which looked good, he said it was average. They didn't have soups ready for lunch which was kind of disappointing. My guess is they are still getting into the swing of doing lunch service. We will definitely try it again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillyB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy's also viewed

 

Been to Billy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing