We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The River and Rail

The River and Rail
Reserve with OpenTable
The River and Rail is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 466 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Southern, Local, Seasonal cooking in the heart of Roanoke nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains. Executive Chef Aaron Deal is James Beard nominated and is delighted to be serving traditional yet upscale southern classics in his Roanoke kitchen.
Roanoke
Level Contributor
96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went with friends for dinner. Very good food and waitstaff. The lamb ribs were excellent. Good wine list. The chocolate bread pudding was dry but the other desserts were good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mitched5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    40
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Creative Menu, but service left something to be desired.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Went to River and Rail on Friday night, love the space and vibe of the restaurant. The menu is creative with the emphasis on local products. We thought the food was very tasty, maybe a little too salty for my palate, but overall very good. The presentation was lovely, portion size was perfect for me, but somewhat somewhat pricey, although I know that is the price you pay to eat local products. The disappointment came in the service. The hostesses were not very friendly, I think their job is to great the customer and make them feel like the restaurant is happy they are diners. The waitress was friendly, but fairly incompetent. We ordered 4 entrees and one entree was completely wrong. Drinks came out slowly and at different times and we were charged for an extra glass of wine. To top the evening off, we had to wait 40 minutes for our desserts. We enjoy leisurely meals, but waiting that long is not acceptable. The waitress came over once to apologize that our desserts were slow coming out and said something about a big party etc. Regardless, we were disappointed that they did not offer to comp either a glass of wine or something similar after our daughter's entree came out wrong or we had to wait so long for our desserts. When you are paying premium prices (for this area) for a meal you expect premium service and if there are issues then you expect an acknowledgment from the management that there was a problem and how can we make it right so you will come back. I hope the restaurant succeeds, but it may be a long time before we give them another try.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JLRRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Twice is Nice.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

But we will be returning often. Though the portions seem small you get just the right amount of food and it is perfectly cooked and seasoned. The atmosphere is friendly, the service is great and the food exceptional. Great neighborhood restaurant that would rival any we have been in Chicago, San Francisco and Dallas.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debb291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge Mountains, Virginia
Level Contributor
403 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Excellent French Country Fare!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband took me to River and Rail for a birthday dinner, and boy, I'm happy he did! The atmosphere is modern and chic, the wait staff is very attentive, and the food is to die for. We started off with the chicken liver mousse (pate) and almost licked the bowl clean! The owner/chef hand delivered extra bread to our table and asked if everything was okay. As busy as he was, I'm really surprised that he took the time to do that. I ordered the local trout with grits and my husband ordered the pork rack. Both were impeccably plated and cooked to perfection. The flavors that were used for these "simple" French dishes were divine. Pure magic. We will return!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunflower35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I had dinner here recently. Food was fantastic! Very sophisticated but accessible. Really just perfect. Service was excellent. Decor was great as well. We love the location and so happy our first experience was positive.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GPSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River and Rail also viewed

 

Been to The River and Rail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing