We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“a must see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Center in the Square

Center in the Square
Ranked #9 of 66 things to do in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adjacent to Market Square and the City Market, Center in the Square provides a home to four cultural arts and science non-profit organizations in our signature building in downtown Roanoke: Roanoke Pinball Museum, Harrison Museum of African American Culture, History Museum of Western Virginia, Science Museum of Western Virginia, and Mill Mountain Theatre. Visit our website or call for individual museum admission pricing. Mill Mountain Theatre and Children's Theatre of Roanoke tickets are available through our full-service box office. Come inside to enjoy our aquariums in the atrium and green rooftop without charge. Building Hours: Monday - Saturday 10 am - 5 pm, and Sunday 1 - 5 pm. [Note: Roanoke Pinball Museum is closed Mondays. History Museum is closed on Mondays October through April.]
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

if you are coming to , or passing through the beautiful Roanoke Valley a must see is the center in the square, located in the famous farmers market area of downtown. the whole center in the square has been remodeled at great expense. and is a real treat for adults and children . there are science exhibits and things that test the mines of children, one of the most impressive things for people of all ages, is the butterfly exhibit . it is beautiful and breathtaking if you like insects they are there too. and if you get hungry, you are in for a treat . there are some of the best restaurants in Roanoke nearby . a great day awaits you, rw

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    49
    14
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All in one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This houses several museums and exhibits well worth the time and money to see. The aquariums alone are fun. Don't miss the Butterfly Garden if you do not want to see the science museum. The history museum was very informative and had some good remnants from the valley.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
“Nice place to see different things”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is new built center which I like the decorations and layout of inside .I will suggest everybody should try to go there if you will pass across downtown Roanoke. I took my company there when they visit me , and they enjoyed to go up to the roof of the center where you can view some sightseeing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CissieBn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CenterintheSquare, Public Relations Manager at Center in the Square, responded to this review, February 5, 2015
That's a great photo taken up on our rooftop observation decks! Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A fun quaint place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

They were having a festival at this time which was a lot of fun. The shops here are really cute. We stopped at a deli to get a sandwich, which was awesome. Loved this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank islandprincess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Awe!! This is a cute little shopping area with cute little shops.
Fresh flowers, veggies and of course small restaurants to dine inside or outdoors.
Wish every town had something like this.
But they all close shop at 7 pm.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luluip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CenterintheSquare, Guest Relations Manager at Center in the Square, responded to this review, February 5, 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed the shopping and restaurants in downtown Roanoke. Next time please be sure to come inside Center in the Square to visit our atrium aquariums, rooftop observation decks, or one of our three museums. We do close daily at 5 pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Center in the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing