We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Star”

Mill Mountain Star and Park
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A "must see" on most visitors list, an 88-foot manmade star (the largest in the world) sits on majestic Mill Mountain along with a beautifully landscaped city park, that boasts hiking and biking trails, and a zoo.
Bellmawr, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Star”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stop by to check out the views from the top of Mill Mountain. Nice drive up to the top. The views of Roanoke were good. and star was big. We went during the day. it s open during night when the star is lighted up. We did not have time to check it out at night. Maybe next time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenny21NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    284
    67
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Top of the Mountain”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our first trip to the area and we made a point to visit the Star. It is impressive but the drive up the mountain and the views from the outlook are incredible!
Well worth a visit!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank harpellroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Trip back home!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We traveled back home for a family reunion and decided to take a few extra days to just explore some interesting sites in Roanoke. Mill Mountain star and park was one of them and it sure did bring back many wonderful memories of my growing up and visiting my grandparents in Roanoke! We always had fun on the mountain and I will never forget those times. The star is magnificent day or night but I especially love it at night when it is all lit up. They also change it's colors for different seasons. A must see when in Roanoke!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nebraskafoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One Spot Everyone Should Visit”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The park has no bells and whistles, except for the small Mill Mountain Zoo and the Discovery Center, but it's peaceful and has great views of the Roanoke Valley along with a guide to the names of mountains you see. The webcam makes it possible for you to coordinate your visit with friends' online viewing so you can wave at them (my grandson likes to do this). Picnic tables are available, and for the adventurous, there are woodsy hiking trails to try.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank zoetav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“On top of old Smokey”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you get to Roanoke, Mill Mountain is a must see. Roanoke is the star city and one trip to the mountain and you'll see why. The panoramic views of the Roanoke Valley are truly stunning. The view is totally free, so don't miss it!!!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeDavis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill Mountain Star and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing