We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day or Night Fun!”

Mill Mountain Star and Park
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A "must see" on most visitors list, an 88-foot manmade star (the largest in the world) sits on majestic Mill Mountain along with a beautifully landscaped city park, that boasts hiking and biking trails, and a zoo.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Day or Night Fun!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Star has always been the go-to place for getting a different perspective on our city, for long talks with friends, and for just a fun place to go. I am happy to share it with my boys now. They love to go in the rain or in the dark just as much as on sunny days. There is always a different vibe, depending on the weather, time of year, time of day, etc. The trail is a great place to see butterflies, the occasional lizard or turtle, and local fauna. We have seen snakes on the road heading up the mountain, much to the delight of the entire family, as well as deer. We haven't seen either at Star itself, though. This is also a great place to view Christmas lights, fireworks, and to teach kids where things are around town from an aerial view.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JediBoysAndFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    288
    68
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norton, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice little park on the mountain”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We didn't get to stay very long and the observation deck was crowded at the time we decided to go, but the view was amazing, even if you weren't at the edge. The park was shady and well maintained. There were picnic tables and benches around and there were a few trails around that looked nice but we weren't able to hike them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calicocactuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful overview of the Roanoke Valley”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The star itself is interesting, but not much to look at up close. The park includes multiple hiking and bike trails and there is also a small zoo. We walked the garden there and saw multiple chipmunck, squirrels, and birds galore. The overlook of the Roanoke Valley is a stunning view. The park is just off the Blue Ridge Parkway if you want a butiful drive with intermittent spectacular vistas.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely view”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I appreciate the night view here. Termendously, zoo? Eh. Wish they would develop this into more. It has geeat potential. Kinda nice to go sit with a bf/gf for a bit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaydayFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It's not a wow-zer, breath taking sort of place, but you can see a lot of the city from the star and the hiking trail to get there is very nice and not crowded. I wouldn't recommend hiking the whole trail with small children as there is no railing and a straight drop off one side, but the park near the star is little kid friendly and my 5 year old niece had a blast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill Mountain Star and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing