We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of City Market

City Market
Ranked #17 of 68 things to do in Roanoke
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This open-air market is the oldest, continuous operation of its kind in Virginia. Year-round activities, including special holiday events, the annual chili cook-off and monthly Art by Night, as well as local color, characters and produce make it one of the city's most popular spots.
Jamestown, NC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Last weekend, we again visited Roanoke. We travel 100 miles to repeatedly visit this area. One of the best parts of our visit is going to the downtown market. This is right in the center of downtown near several parking areas. Handmade soaps, jewelry, pastries, vegetables, plants, etc. What is so nice is the number of boutiques and restaurants within the area. And for the guys in your life, an Orvis store. Don't miss the Market Square building, which houses many small restaurants. Another fun time to go is during their St. Patrick's Day celebration. It has a small town celebration feel. Be aware that even though Roanoke is in the mountains, it can be very cold or very hot, so check the weather forecast before going.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewSrTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend an hour or so”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Roanoke is a lovely place and downtown Roanoke is charming. The City market has local grown veggies, art work etc. Also there are all type of niche shops and restaurants.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh Juice!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was my first visit to Roanoke and so my first visit to the City Market. I cannot speak to anything except the fresh juice they offer. It was not only refreshing and delicious, but was also priced extremely reasonably at $6 for 12 oz. or $7 for 16oz. my fella and I went twice in a 24 hour period since the juice was so wonderful.

I did scope out the menu while we were there and it is extensive. Looks like they serve every kind of coffee or tea beverage as well as a variety of sandwiches, wraps and breakfast all day! I was impressed by their selection of vegan options, too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank applesqueeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I WANT TO GO AGAIN”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

What a fabulous place to stroll and shop and just be outside. A must see / do if you are in Roanoke. It was amazing and so much fun

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank leathajh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent downtown city market”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

When in Roanoke we regularly patronize the City Market purchasing vegetable, fresh breads, plants, etc. We particularly enjoy the Table 50 Restaurant located in the market.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank whiteoakspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing