We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mill Mountain Zoo

Mill Mountain Zoo
Ranked #15 of 69 things to do in Roanoke
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We promote an appreciation and understanding of animal and habitat preservation through the use of quality exhibits and educational programs. Mill Mountain Zoo was founded in 1952 as a nursery-rhyme themed petting zoo that featured farm animals, birds, and native Virginia wildlife. For the first twenty-five years, we were operated by Roanoke's Parks and Recreation Department. In 1978, the Roanoke Jaycees renewed the zoo and replaced old exhibits to create a place appealing to all ages. Governance was turned over to the Blue Ridge Zoological Society of Virginia, Inc. in 1988 (more commonly known as Mill Mountain Zoo). In the early 1990's, a citizens' committee created a master plan for exhibitions, visitor amenities, and expansion of the site to our current eight acres. Other improvements included new exhibits and an upgrade of infrastructure. In 1995, Mill Mountain Zoo first received accreditation from the AZA, which sets the highest standards in the nation for zoos. Of our nation's 2,000 government-licensed animal exhibition facilities, only about 200 qualify for AZA accreditation. AZA membership also provides a network of zoological expertise and reciprocal member arrangements with zoos across the country. Within Virginia, only four AZA accredited facilities exist-Mill Mountain Zoo in Roanoke, the Virginia Aquarium and Marine Science Center in Virginia Beach, the Virginia Living Museum and the Virginia Zoological Park in Norfolk.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

My 2nd trip to the zoo. Small & quaint. Good prices, unique animals, train wasn't running. Wonder about the size of the snow leopard pen, if it's big enough as one was just pacing. Staff quickly removed a copperhead snake found in the vulture enclosure. Didn't visit the gift shop. A snack bar would be a plus if the gift shop doesn't have one.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CAH156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    76
    51
    20
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
va beach
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice outing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Looking for something to do with the kids to kill sometime and not spend a fortune. This was a nice find. Small Zoo but worth the price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank eric1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limestone, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth the stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I stopped in July. Both of us work in the Zoo field so going and checking out zoos is something that we love to do. We had heard this was a small zoo but well worth the visit. Glad that we went out of our way to visit this zoo. The staff were very friendly. While checking out the fishing cat one of the keepers came over and asked if we had any questions or would like to know more about the fishing cat. It is great to see animal staff willing to also interact with the guests. For the land they have available they have done a great job with animal selection. The zoo also has a few places that overlooks Roanoke (great views by the way). Definitely worth the stop if your in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bright8086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutville, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good for local entertainment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Definitely not worth driving a long distance to, but if you are a local or in the area it's worth visiting. For the small assortment of animals , the tickets are a bit pricey. We have been to other small zoos , but this is by far the smallest we have seen. Also, as an animal lover, it breaks my heart to see animals trapped in such small cages, and most animals don't seem happy. Since we are local, we did have the membership the first year and it paid itself back in just few visits( and kept my at the time 3 year old a happy little adventurer) , but since then the membership price has almost tripled and it is not worth it at all. You can walk the whole zoo in about 10 minutes if you do not really look at any animals. The little zoo train is fun for little kids, but it can be a challenge to keep a little one with a short attention span entertained for the 30 minutes before the next train runs, but maybe that is why there is a little playground right in the zoo. Either way, good to come visit if you are already here, but not worth driving to for more than an hour.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ievasandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton Ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a destination zoo, but good if you are in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Every time we visit Roanoke we make a trip up to the Star on Mill Mtn. This past recent trip we decided to visit the zoo. The cost was under $40.00 for our family of four adults. The zoo is on the small side but we had a great time ! We encountered two zoo workers who were eager to share info with us about the animals that they were feeding. The zoo was very clean and easy to navigate. There is a food concession with decent prices. My 15 year old collects flattened pennies from places we visit and was happy to buy one at the zoo. Great for families with children and adults who love animals too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Omydarlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mill Mountain Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing