We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fun place to entertain !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Museum of Transportation

Virginia Museum of Transportation
303 Norfolk Avenue, Roanoke, VA
540-342-5670
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 64 things to do in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Antique automobiles and trucks, electric and deisel locomotives, and vintage steam, are all part of the nostalgic show at this historic freight station that doubles as a museum .
Roanoke, Va
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun place to entertain !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a wedding rehearsal dinner here recently. Many international guests attended & everyone thought it was a lot of fun! The 611 had left the VMT the week before, for NC. Hannah & the staff there were great to work with. We had Blue Ridge Catering do a BBQ dinner & the tables were set up amongst the antique cars. It was a great idea !!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MWCfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    128
    33
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A fun place for kids of all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

While the history or Roanoke is tied to the trains, the Museum of Transportation not only showcases the amazing trains (you can see them up close), but also cars, trucks, airplanes. I think this would be a big hit with the kids.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Slaniergraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must see! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

On our travels north, we stopped to do the railway walk. Our two boys Love trains! (Ages 6&2). Buttons to push, signal goes up/down, bells, whistles. Nice halfway stop to stretch our legs and let the boys see moving trains along the walk. On our way south, we made time to go inside the museum- fantastic! Best display of trains we've seen and our boys Love trains so we've been to a few. Model train display, outdoor pavilion full of trucks, trains. This place is a Must see especially if you love trains!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaybm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutville, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Love the outside and inside of VMT!!! We have a membership, so we are quite frequent guests, at least once a month. My youngest son was absolutely in love with trains when he was younger, so it was THE perfect place, trains everywhere. Also, VMT has a Nickel Plate Road train, and for my son that was the best. By now he has outgrown his train love and moved on to planes and rockets, and VMT still keeps him happy. My oldest son she is 12 does enjoy it too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ievasandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor
Level Contributor
366 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Two Hours of Fun: History of Train and Buses in Roanoke Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Fun two hours with emphasis on train and bus transport history in the Roanoke Valley

Visitors from all over.

Some cool preserved and/or restored autos including an electric car that competed favorably with gas for a while. See pics.

Pluses:
+ Free parking available adjacent to the museum. Paid private parking is unnecessary if you arrive early or later.
+ Senior Adult price starts at only 60 years old.
+ Video of the 611 train reconstruction

Small Gripe:
- Most of the train stuff you can look but not touch or explore inside

Tips: Remember your AAA membership for discount. Trains and buses are outside of course so remember your coat if cold and sun glasses if sunny.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AisleSeat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Museum of Transportation also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Transportation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing