We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FASCINATING MUSEUM” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virginia Museum of Transportation

Virginia Museum of Transportation
Ranked #3 of 69 things to do in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Antique automobiles and trucks, electric and deisel locomotives, and vintage steam, are all part of the nostalgic show at this historic freight station that doubles as a museum .
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“FASCINATING MUSEUM”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Got off to bad start with less than welcoming receptionist, however the Museum is filled with interesting stuff. i was mostly into the railroad section and it did not disappoint. Bumped into several volunteeers who were eager to talk about the museum artefacts and their own recollections, wonderful stuff. Enjoyed the close proximity to nearby railroad tracks and waving at the engineers as they passed by. Well worth a vist and recommended. Please visit teh nearby O Winston link Museum for a full day with a good value join ticket. Oh the model railway layout is a joy to behold

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank karaoke594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    156
    39
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Well wort the $8 entrance, particularly if your a railway buff,
Very impressive model railway layout as you enter the museum, and volunteer staff to tell you about the many exhibits.
There is an impressive collection of vintage cars and commercial vehicles
Once again if your into railways you can spend time watching the Norfolk Southern Railroad marshalling yard activity which is adjacent to the Museum.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cambo2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruckersville, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Trains, Planes and Auto's. with a Bus Thrown in.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Museum is a very interesting place to spend part of your day.
The smallest section is on Bus transportation, Displaying models and photos of Greyhound and Trailways buses that operated throughout the area.
The next small collection is the Aircraft area with a few airplanes and the gondola of a hot air baloon suspended from the ceiling. an interesting part of the collection is a mockup of a LearJet that you can get into or view.
The Auto collection is quite interesting, Nascar Driver Curtis Turner is remembered with a display of his convertible. There is a reconsturcted gas station with different Memorabilia from the area.
The main focus of the museum is Railfoad. From Steam to Desel to Electirc , Mainline to Yard engines, a good display. They have some interesting rolling stock as well, Don't want to forget the Model Railfoad displays either.
There was alot of staff available to ansewer questions when we visited. They have a good gift shop also.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grenville F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun for grown-ups and kids...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was my first visit to the Virginia Transportation museum in about 30 years - I grew up in Roanoke, and haven't been back to the museum since my school field trip days.

The museum has an awesome collection of cars, trains, buses and related memorabilia relevant to this once-industrial railroad town. It's heaven for train and car buffs. The museum feels like it could use a little love (or funding) as some of the exhibits are a little worn (faded photographs, cracked frames). But the overall feel of the museum is fun and informative.

My favorite part was the railyard, where trains and other major modes of transport rest - I spent about an hour out there on a sunny day, taking pictures.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrCyndiBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
209 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“More Than Expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to find this small museum had a lot of informative, well-done displays on all modes of transportation. We saw quite a few very well restored railcars and engines and most of their rail equipment is displayed in a covered shed which we had not expected but were most grateful for as there was a torrential rainstorm when we were there and it enabled us to wander amongst the equipment while staying dry. In addition to the railroad we enjoyed the well-labeled automotive and bus displays and also the miniature circus displays upstairs. They have limited free parking on the property and there is paid parking in an adjacent lot across the street.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TouringTwoTimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Museum of Transportation also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Transportation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing