We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Museum of Transportation

Virginia Museum of Transportation
303 Norfolk Avenue, Roanoke, VA
540-342-5670
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 64 things to do in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Antique automobiles and trucks, electric and deisel locomotives, and vintage steam, are all part of the nostalgic show at this historic freight station that doubles as a museum .
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Planned a brief visit while driving through Roanoke but all agreed we would like more time to see everything in the collection!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tiredtravelerzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    129
    33
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I'll admit, upon first entering the museum I was skeptical, but I came out very pleased with my time spent! They have some terrific rooms and stories from automobiles to bus to flight history in western Virginia. But the stand-out display is the outdoor area where there are MANY original and greatly historical trains you are allowed to walk through and explore! We had the pleasure of stumbling upon a gentleman who worked for the museum who gave an impromptu tour of the trains and cars for those who wished to listen. He did a terrific job and you can tell by his excitement that his knowledge and passion for trains were genuine and life-long. If you are looking for a Roanoke attraction that will cover 1-2 hours, this is your go-to museum, especially for anyone who loves planes, trains, and automobiles!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Crockett312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We visited the Transportation Museum in October this past year based on a friend's recommendation. What a pleasant surprise!! This Museum featured railroad rolling stock including passenger cars, many diesel engines and particularly the N&W famous steam engine. Having been a conductor on the B&O RR I was most impressed and pleased with the displays. My wife was overjoyed in that this became a hands-on learning experience featuring equipment she had only seen in passing or had previously read about. The museum has other display including antique cars, airplanes, model of a complete circus, along with folks of experience to tell the story and respond to inquiries. What a great presentation which deserves our attention.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Especially nice for train lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Virginia Museum of Transportation does a wonderful job with historic preservation of train memorabilia. They have something for young and old alike. It is also a nice venue for a party.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clean7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unusual museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

All modes of transportation are present here, massive trains including the streamline # 611 steam and the rugged freight stem engine # 1218. Well maintained and worth your time. combination ticket with O. Link museum also.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 370DAVIDD370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Museum of Transportation also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Transportation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing