We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you love trains, a must visit.”

Virginia Museum of Transportation
Ranked #2 of 69 things to do in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Antique automobiles and trucks, electric and deisel locomotives, and vintage steam, are all part of the nostalgic show at this historic freight station that doubles as a museum .
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you love trains, a must visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Wonderful to see the actual trains restored to their glory. The prevention in the safety training car is worth seeing. A nice snap shot of history. Looking forward to returning in the future to see the coming soon aviation display.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    160
    40
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham,Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Arriving in Roanoke later than we'd expected, we had time for only a brief visit to this museum, but were glad we'd made the effort.

Standing next to the huge Norfolk & Western steam locomotive was awe-inspiring and no doubt my husband's favorite thing, but it was the stunning model railroad layout that really won my heart. It has 600 feet of track and a variety of trains running through towns, mountain tunnels, over bridges, and more, and is absolutely addictive! I'd go back again just to see that exhibit.

I also enjoyed seeing the china once used on the Norfolk & Western Railroad -- quite a contrast to what we'd just experienced on Amtrak!

There's a great deal more to see, and it would be easy to spend several hours enjoying this well-planned, visitor-friendly (free parking outside!) museum. I hope we can return there sometime in the future.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LocalFoodLoverNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, pa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a great little museum if you like anything associated with Transportation.There are some cool trains that you can actually climb onto.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for kids.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

It has changed over the years for the better. The people are nice that work there. Children really enjoy it. Some great trains . A great asset to downtown Roanoke.

Helpful?
Thank Jane C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More geared toward kids”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

There's nothing *wrong* with the museum. It's just small, mundane and more geared toward children.

We went with a preschool group and the kids loved jumping up on the trains and ringing the bell (as well as watching the miniature trains ride by). But if you are going in a group of adults, save your money and time and see something else.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank rachelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virginia Museum of Transportation also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Museum of Transportation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing