We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, nice staff - but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colony House Motor Lodge
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, nice staff - but dated”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were a group of motorcyclists traveling the nearby Blue Ridge Parkway ... two couples and one solo rider, so three rooms.

We were warmly greeted and the rooms were ready as expected since we arrived later in the day.

The motel shows it's age and the room's decor is a decade or two dated, although given the age, it was nice and clean.

Next time we do this ride we'll spend a bit more and stay somewhere with a more modern touch.

The price was inline for what we received ... it was a good value. And I always appreciate a friendly staff. If you are on a budget this is a nice choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share this valuable feedback with us, James. Your rating of 4 for Location, Sleep Quality, and Cleanliness as well as 5 for Value and Service, is quite a compliment! With your knowledge of the industry as outlined in your profile, I know you recognize the constant effort and hard work our staff produces to earn our guests’ respect.

Being just 2 miles from the Route 220 entrance to the Blue Ridge Parkway, we attract travelers from all over. Your attached photo of your rides right outside the rooms concisely conveys their compliments of this advantageous parking. They tell us being able to park at their room provides an added level of security, safety, convenience, and peace of mind for their property, whether it is their pride and joy touring motorcycle, vintage automobile, exotic car, or the family vehicle full of personal possessions.

Since you rated us 5 for 5 in Value and Service, why pay more for just a "modern touch"? I hope y'all will come back and give us another chance to impress. Our “quaint step back in time” motor lodge and good old sincere Southern Hospitality will be waiting for you.

In the meantime, enjoy the ride.
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    41
    24
    17
    7
See reviews for
27
37
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McCormick, SC
Level Contributor
338 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The review by Robert F B pretty well sums up this property. Room 401 was not good enough reach the economy motel level where you expect some dents, dings and scratches here and there. This situation was evident from floor to ceiling. The carpet is filthy with stains and spills over much of it. The louvered door have closures but they don't work. This mean unless you make it a point to close the door so that it doesn't slam shut, it will slam shut. We stayed 3 nights and unfortunately our neighbors let the door slam. Not good around the midnight hour. The TV is so old the picture was blurry and if you like Fox News it was no where to be found. The stopper in the vanity sink was closed when we arrived. The lever had disconnected. We informed management and the fix was a bent coffee stirrer wedged under the stopper to partially hold it open. It stayed this way for the 3 days. If you need shampoo, bring you own. This over 50 year old property is just plain worn out. The staff is very friendly but this cannot overcome the poor condition of the units. Hopefully the Colony House Motor Lodge will show up on "Hotel Impossible".

Room Tip: There are two levels to this motel, lower front and upper back. You can park in front of your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captmorgan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Captain Morgan, thank you for rating us above average for “Value”, “Sleep Quality”, and very high on our “Location”. The sink plunger has been repaired, but you didn't mention your room had two sinks, as most of our rooms do, and the other wasn't affected . I do apologize for any inconvenience, as that's never our intention.

That said, I am puzzled about your complaints of problems “floor to ceiling” and carpet “filthy with stains and spills”. The room had been recently repainted floor to ceiling including the ceiling and our inspection doesn't verify your complaints about the carpet. If you felt it was in such poor condition, I’m surprised you stayed there for three days and didn't request a room change. Our guests' happiness is important to us, so we would've happily found you a room that's just right.

I apologize for our inconsiderate guests who slammed their door. Such occurrences in the middle of the night can be very disruptive. Also, have you priced travel size toiletries? They are outrageous! So think what we would have to pay for even smaller bottles. Why should our guest pay for them if they aren’t needed? That is why, as stated on our folio, should you forget toiletries, they are available free at the front desk, and we can provide a better price to value experience.

Travel safe,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiehle, VA
Level Contributor
457 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This place was recommended to me by a local friend down there whose aunt stayed here while convalesencing due to a broken ankle a while back. The exterior is quite well-maintained as one might expect. The inside? Read on...

An older gentleman at the front desk greeted me with an "I've been expecting you" when I identified myself as having a reservation. The check-in took an average amount of time.

While I was given cookies at the front desk, they were not hot. They were prepackaged. Speaking of food, when I asked the gentleman at the front desk if he could suggest a local barbecue restaurant, he would only suggest those in their mini-menu display. (None were barbecue, BTW...) Other than this, he was friendly, courteous, and helpful.

My room (403) had a mix of the good and not-so good. The louvered screen door is a nice touch. If it had a screen to keep out the bugs, it would be useful for ventilation. The heating & A/C unit was older and most of the lettering had been worn away, making it tough to operate. And, it was loud! The carpeting, while old, was obviously well-maintained. As for the TV... 1987 called and it wants its TV back. My TV got only half the channels listed on the guide card provided by the pizza chain. Near to the TV is a curiously placed electric outlet that isn't mounted in the wall, but rather on the wall, by the dressing area. Also, the room was dimly lit for the most part due to older design light bulbs. I had to open the drapes to be able to read! The only modern thing in the room was the "No Smoking" table tent on the table. On the plus side, the room was large and uncrowded with too much furniture for the available space, as is all too common today.

The most glaring thing that got me about the room are the sections of paint on the ceiling that look like they could fall down at any time and hit someone. Including someone asleep! Somebody really needs to take a look at that. By comparison, the cracks in the bathroom tile aren't that bad. I know that part of Virginia isn't far from where a strong earthquake occurred a couple of years ago. So, fixing something like that might be done in the future. But, the peeling sections of ceiling paint? That needs to be looked at really soon.

As for breakfast... I don't know what continent the term "continental breakfast" originated from. But, I'd have to venture to say that they are unhealthy (carb rich with the pastries), weak and tire easily (because of the absence of protein and the serving sizes), and would be easily conquered by a better-fed force. In the case of Colony House, while the food was average, the serving area was tiny! And, unlike some places with this situation which encourage the guests to take the food back to their room for eating, the Colony House forbids this practice, citing that this is "due to the increased cost of food". Signs like this reek of a cheapness that, fortunately, I've rarely seen in my travels. The sign in my room reminding that low rates are possible in part due to reduced energy consumption were innocuous by comparison.

Check out was as fast and as courteous as the check-in.

I found on my visit that Roanoke is not that bad of a city that I might want to visit again. Will I stay here again?

Good question! Pity the facility isn't of the standard of the people who work there!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you very much for the feedback and your 4-star rating, Robert. It was a pleasure hosting you, and I'm glad you found the people here to be so friendly. I'll make sure the whole team reads this, as well.

As for the "shortcomings," I appreciate you letting me know about them. It is always good to see where we can improve. Painting, as you might imagine, is a continuous task that occupies most of the time of one of our maintenance staff. It is always helpful for guest to notify us when something needs to be moved up on the list.

As four our cookies, Otis Spunkmeyer premixes the cookie dough and we prepare them fresh daily. Aren’t they delicious! They remind my wife of growing up in Roanoke and visiting her Grandma who always had fresh cookies for her.

If you do ever make it back to Roanoke, we’d love the opportunity to welcome you again. I know we can really impress you.

Take care,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our nephew graduated VT May 17th and we started looking for a room in January. Everything was either booked or the rate was "jacked up" for a standard hotel room just because of graduation. We decided to check Roanoke being that it was only 30 miles North of Blacksburg. Again the area was either booked or over-priced. I came across Colony House Motor Lodge and decided to check it out for availability and price. The pictures represent the quality of the motel and it truly is a blast from the past. I focused on the positive remarks made by other traveler's hoping that it would be a nice, clean, and affordable. IT WAS - we were pleasantly surprised and happy. After hearing horror stories from other family members in "brand" named hotels we consider ourselves very lucky. If you are on the fence about booking a stay - go for it - you won't be disappointed for the location and price. I also liked the comment made by the woman that checked us out that it has been family owned since 1957 and they were celebrating a 30 year anniversary of one of their house cleaning personnel! That speaks volumes for the Colony House management of how much they must take care of their employees. If we ever find our way back to Roanoke, I know where we will stay. Thanks, JaM

Room Tip: Lower King Rooms across from pool. Convenient to Ice/Vending machines. Great security. Close to Waf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Your support sure does mean a lot! My sincerest thank you for taking the time to share such a glowing recommendation for us. I also want to send a big congratulations to your nephew! Virginia Tech is such a great school and graduation is a truly memorable and inspiring time.

At the end of the day, our customer's happiness is what's most important, so your kind words are truly heartwarming. I look forward to sharing your compliments with the team almost as much as I look forward to welcoming you back. Don't be a stranger!

Take care,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Was going down to the area for nephew's graduation from Va Tech. Everything in Blacksburg, Christiansburg was expensive and 2 or 3 night minimum. My sister found Colony House online and booked us each a king room. After reading the reviews from here, I'll have to admit I was a bit leery, but I see the owner responds to every review and that is what changed my mind.

Yes the place is older but our rooms were very clean. Yes they have older TVs but ours worked perfectly with tons of channels. Love the old feel to the place and I bet back in the day...this was one really nice place to stay. Wait it was nice in 2014 too. Not sure what an extra $100 a night would have gotten us elsewhere that we didn't have this past weekend.

The desk clerk at check-in, very helpful and yes, you know you remember us!!

The desk clerk at check-out, super friendly and very nice!!

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a king, lower level Front. Back right up to the door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smunster70433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share such a thoughtful, detailed recommendation for us here on TripAdvisor! It means the world to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass your many compliments along to the team. Next time you find yourself in Roanoke, I hope you'll keep us in mind! Our door's always open.

Take care,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Arrived to a room we had not reserved. Reserved a king and were given 2 doubles, even after a call from booking.com assuring me they had spoke directly to the owner and assured us it was a king.

Pulled around to the rear of the motel to a pitch black lot at the time we checked in. Had to get out of vehicle to check room numbers.

Went to take a shower and took a towel off rack to have dead bugs fall out onto the toilet seat. Used a t-shirt to dry off and refused to sleep under bed linens.

Left at 6AM to get out of the room.

Room Tip: Do not stay here unless you just don't care where you sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuelman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
I'm terribly sorry to hear this, and I assure you this isn't the norm for us. I hope you communicated to the desk that you felt you were given the wrong room, and I'll certainly look into this feedback with the staff. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues, and I hope you'll consider giving us another chance to impress you in the future.

Sincerely,
Charles, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

and so easy to find! Less than 1/2 mile off of Rt 220, with nearby restaurants and a large mall right up the road. I just spent 2 nights (my third stay in two years) at Colony House and am still thoroughly satisfied with the cleanliness of the rooms, and location. The staff was welcoming, prompt and helpful with extra amenities. (I'd forgotten my hairdryer, and also misplaced my toothbrush). Both were provided with no qualms.
I highly recommend Colony House Motor Lodge to anyone visiting Roanoke! I know I'll be back again.
J. Young

Room Tip: The back side of the motel is very quiet, as it's away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles E, Owner at Colony House Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Jennifer, thank you for your kind comments. Our staff works hard and is proud of their professionalism and will be pleased that it shows. We are very fortunate that our family chose this excellent location in 1958. What foresight! Loyal customers such as yourself are very important to us and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#21 of 40 in Roanoke
136 reviews
1.9 mi away
Affordable Corporate Suites
Affordable Corporate Suites
#24 of 40 in Roanoke
7 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
6.5 mi away
Motel 6 Roanoke
Motel 6 Roanoke
#25 of 40 in Roanoke
252 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony House Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony House Motor Lodge

Property: Colony House Motor Lodge
Address: 3560 Franklin Rd SW, Roanoke, VA 24014-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colony House Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colony House Motor Lodge is South Roanoke's guest bedroom. A quaint step back in time with modern conveniences, Colony House Motor Lodge is situated in beautiful and fashionable South Roanoke. Located 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway near the junction of Route 220 and I-581 on Franklin Road, we are conveniently near and accessible to the many Roanoke Valley attractions and facilities. Family owned with family pride since 1957, our dedicated and friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you.Our goal is to provide a quality experience at an affordable price. Toward this goal our amenities include a free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, exercise room, guest laundry, business center and an outdoor pool in season. Additionally each room has a coffee maker, small refrigerator, microwave, and two bathroom sinks in most. For those needing more room or a kitchen, we have two spacious suites. Weekly stays are also available, making Colony House a great option for business travelers. Adjoining large and small conferences rooms suitable for meetings or exhibitions are available separately or together at a reasonable price. To assist with catering, a prep area is adjacent to the large conference room. Each conference room has its own private bathroom. Carilion Memorial, Carilion Community, and Lewis Gale hospitals are just minutes away, and we proudly provide a discount for inpatients' families. Other nearby destinations include Mill Mountain Zoo, Virginia Museum of Transportation, The Taubman Museum of Art, Roanoke Civic Center, Center in the Square, Roanoke Farmer's Market and The Jefferson Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Colony House Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony House Motor Hotel Roanoke
Colony Hotel Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing