We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Little Motor Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colony House Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colony House Motor Lodge
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Little Motor Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed here one night - September 24, 2011. This is a older, small, family-owned motel. The check-in guy was the owner I'm pretty sure and he gave me the rate of $56 for a Saturday night. He was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very large and spacious and the bed was comfortable. The room was very clean and came with a microfridge and microwave and no complaints whatsoever. The motel was very quiet even though on a major road. There is a Waffle House next door and several other restaurants within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    23
    16
    6
See reviews for
25
33
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Union, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2010

Very good Place to stay
close to shopping and eating places
Will Be Going Back

Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cntrydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

I do not understand the review of Feb. 2009. I too was hospitalized while staying at this hotel. I received excellent treatment and much concern for my health. They most certainly do honor their weekly rate of $196.00. As a matter of fact, I feel I was given such special treatment, I plan on visiting again real soon. It is very clean and quiet with extremely friendly staff to include the housekeepers.

This just goes to show that you cannot judge hotels by unfavorable reviews....you simply cannot please certain people when things don't go their way all the time!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellasue62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

Father having open heart surgery at Roanoke Memorial...Called to confirm reservations and was promised weekly rate of $196.00. Upon checking out was forced to pay full rate of $50 per night plus tax. Would not let us speak to management nor corporate office/owner. Called back and spoke with owner who was extremely rude and said that he refused to deal with us and hung up. Had human resources from the hospital call for us and she was treated rudely also. Other places are cleaner, have better service and the same rates! Still close to hospital. I would not recommend staying at the Colony House!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbnilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2007

The Colony House is centrally located in Roanoke, and is a good place to stay for the money. It's an older motel, but is clean and had no problems EXCEPT for the fact that they do not separate smoking and non-smoking rooms. The lodge has two separate buildings and logic would tell the owner to separate them, but smoking and non-smoking rooms are side by side. As a result (and being an older hotel did not help), we had cigarette smoke to deal with for all five days. When I asked the manager about it, he said, "it probably comes in through the bathroom, doesn't it?" which indicated that he was aware of the problem. At times, we would walk in and it would smell like someone lit up in that very room. If you are a smoker, or don't mind the smell of other people's smoke, then you will be fine in this motel.

Helpful?
2 Thank kim0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2007

The main advantage of the Colony House is its location near the South Roanoke area, which is not far from downtown. The hotel is past its prime, not new and spiffy clean like other newer hotels, which may be an issue for many travelers. I would never recommend this hotel however because the manager is extremely rude and anti-customer. I had stayed in the hotel for the regular rate and checked back in a few days later and was charged a much higher rate, but was not informed of that. The reason for the higher rate was that I checked in on 'speedway night", but that only applied for one night in any case; however, the manager tried to charge me the much higher rate for every night, even after the speedway event was over. But most importantly, he was the rudest hotel employee I have ever seen anywhere in the world.

Morever, this hotel manager will charge a full day extra if you leave even a few minutes after check-out time. That is another bizarre, anti-customer policy. Again, he was very very rude when I complained about this.

Avoid this hotel.

  • Disliked — very rude manager who has unprofessional attitude in dealing with customers
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank usaravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2004

The rooms here are somewhat overpriced for what you get. The furniture is quite flimsy and our bathroom needed some work. For a few dollars more you can stay in better hotels within the same vicinity.

Helpful?
4 Thank err230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#22 of 40 in Roanoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 40 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony House Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony House Motor Lodge

Property: Colony House Motor Lodge
Address: 3560 Franklin Rd SW, Roanoke, VA 24014-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colony House Motor Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colony House Motor Lodge is South Roanoke's guest bedroom. A quaint step back in time with modern conveniences, Colony House Motor Lodge is situated in beautiful and fashionable South Roanoke. Located 2 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway near the junction of Route 220 and I-581 on Franklin Road, we are conveniently near and accessible to the many Roanoke Valley attractions and facilities. Family owned with family pride since 1957, our dedicated and friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you.Our goal is to provide a quality experience at an affordable price. Toward this goal our amenities include a free continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, exercise room, guest laundry, business center and an outdoor pool in season. Additionally each room has a coffee maker, small refrigerator, microwave, and two bathroom sinks in most. For those needing more room or a kitchen, we have two spacious suites. Weekly stays are also available, making Colony House a great option for business travelers. Adjoining large and small conferences rooms suitable for meetings or exhibitions are available separately or together at a reasonable price. To assist with catering, a prep area is adjacent to the large conference room. Each conference room has its own private bathroom. Carilion Memorial, Carilion Community, and Lewis Gale hospitals are just minutes away, and we proudly provide a discount for inpatients' families. Other nearby destinations include Mill Mountain Zoo, Virginia Museum of Transportation, The Taubman Museum of Art, Roanoke Civic Center, Center in the Square, Roanoke Farmer's Market and The Jefferson Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Colony House Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony House Motor Hotel Roanoke
Colony Hotel Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing