We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MainStay Suites Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MainStay Suites Airport
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Emporia, Virginia
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Made sure I had everything I needed to make my stay a pleasant one. The breakfast was great and the room were very fresh and clean. The desk clerk on all shifts were very friendly and helpful. Desk clerk advised of places to eat. Clerk went ot of their way to make sure your room was up to par.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey M S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the staff was friendly and helpful. We strive to treat each guest as if they are a member of our family and visiting at our personal home. We all look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    39
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
60
31
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My stay at MainStay Suites was quite satisfactory. It isn't an extravagant hotel but a nice, clean, quiet, basic hotel that will meet all the needs of a business person traveling. I'll be back later this year and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetaginTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am pleased your stay was enjoyable but I wish we had exceeded your expectations. We will have to work harder on your next visit.
Thanks again for sharing your comments. We look forward to your return visit.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

simple but Very clean hotel. Perfect for business or vacation travel. Friendly staff take pride in their hotel
location is convenient, close to Route 81 , near airport, many places to eat close by
perfect hotel for business or family trips

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelBuzzmetroNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. I am pleased you stayed with us and everything was enjoyable. We do have a great location with our proximity to Valley View Mall, the airport and I-81/I-581. But as you stated, our best asset is our staff. They treat everyone as if they were a guest in their own home.
Hurry back and stay with us again. We love having you!
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a super clean and friendly hotel. We travel with our small pets and they have a few pet rooms. The hotel is very well maintained, has a nice breakfast, indoor pool and very friendly staff.
The rooms are well appointed and spacious. They offer handicap accessible rooms and baths with roll in shower. Really nice place located at Valley View mall close to any kind of restaurant you would want. The airport is just a few minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
George,
Thanks for your review, but I need to clarify something. We do not have an indoor pool, however our sister properties next door do have a seasonal outdoor pool and an indoor pool that our guests are welcome to use.
I am pleased your visit was enjoyable and I hope you will stay with us again.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Brenda was awesome along with all others making our stay the best. We will be back in the fall again.... Love them and the people that take care of us while there.... Love, Love, Love this Hotel.. Shared our experance with other that where doing the same event we were doing.... Over 50 vendors... When you find good people and friendly staff etc. you stick with the.

Room Tip: All rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TreasureTreeWire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments. We have an amazing staff that truly defines Southern Hospitality. We look forward to your visit in the fall.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We got off the Blue Ridge Parkway and ended up at this Main Stay Suites near the Airport in Roanoke. Not sure how we ended up this far from the Parkway but we are glad that we did! The rooms are huge, with a large full kitchen. The front counter staff were fun, and informative. There are tons of restaurants nearby and shopping too. The breakfast was great when talking about free hotel breakfasts. The hot food was hot, the coffee was good and the selection of fresh fruits and cereal was extensive. Would definitely stay at this hotel again. Too bad there are not more Main Stay Suites in other places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I'm glad you ventured off the Parkway and came to stay with us. We have a great location and a staff that will make you feel at home. As you stated, our rooms are large suites with full kitchens and lots of room to spread out after a hard day on the road. If you are in town for an extended amount of time, we are the place to stay!
I hope you will visit us again soon.
Thanks!
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here on our way to and from Hilton Head, SC. We had two teenagers with us so we opted for the two bedroom suite. Very spacious and clean. Everyone had their own television - big with teenagers! Everything we needed and/or requested was quickly met (e.g., sheets for pull out sofa, breakfast items). Curtis S. was at the desk both days and was always ready to greet her guests with a smile. She made the trip even more enjoyable with her friendly demeanor. Numerous restaurants are within walking distance or a very very short drive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AW162013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and that Curtis made you feel at home. She is a wonderful lady and we are quite fortunate to have her as a member of our team.
Please visit us again if you return to the Roanoke Valley.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 40 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Airport

Property: MainStay Suites Airport
Address: 5080 Valley View Blvd NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#10 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home and stay longer for less at the pet-friendly MainStay Suites® Roanoke Airport in Roanoke, VA. We are conveniently located off of Interstates 81 and 581, less than two miles from the Roanoke Regional Airport and the Valley View Mall and close to the following popular attractions: Blue Ridge Parkway Dixie Caverns and Pottery Shop Mill Mountain Zoo Lewis-Gale Medical Center Field ballpark Spend time exploring the area, which offers a wide range of outdoor recreational activities like golfing, hiking, horseback riding, boating, fishing and swimming. A variety of restaurants, cocktail lounges and specialty shops are within walking distance. Our spacious suites will make your time with us enjoyable whether you’re here for days, weeks or even months. Each residential-style guest room includes fully-equipped kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, flat-screen television, hair dryer and iron. Additional complimentary offerings include: Free continental breakfast Free premium cable television with movie channels Free airport transportation Free high-speed Internet access Corporate travelers will appreciate our on-site business center, public computer, access to copy and fax services and meeting facilities. Start or finish the day with a workout in our exercise room and spend time relaxing by practicing your swing on our on-site putting green. Our extended stay hotel has ample free parking that can accommodate most vehicles and features laundry facilities on the property that are available for use at your convenience. Book your stay today at the MainStay Suites in Roanoke, VA and enjoy all of the luxuries of home for as long as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your MainStay Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Airport Hotel Roanoke
Mainstay Roanoke
Mainstay Suites Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing