We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay; convenient to everything and very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MainStay Suites Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MainStay Suites Airport
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great place to stay; convenient to everything and very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed here while taking our son to Virginia Tech since all the nearby hotels near Tech were booked. We also needed a pet-friendly place. This was a great place to stay. Everything was very clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is close to the airport and every store I could possibly think of, yet was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoraD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent visit at the Mainstay Suites Airport in Roanoke, VA.
The hotel is conveniently located in the Valley View Mall shopping complex and is just a short drive to I-81 allowing a short commute to Virginia Tech. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and trust you will visit us again when in the Roanoke Valley.
SIncerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    38
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
58
30
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Mom and Dad snore so teenage daughter loves having her own room separated by living area and doors. The suites are very nice. Having a continental breakfast included is also nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for your recent visit to the Mainstay Suites Airport in Roanoke, VA.
I am pleased our two room suite gave you the privacy you needed. We have some rooms that offer two separate bedrooms with a shared living room area. Perfect for large families or two families traveling together.
I hope you will visit us again should you return to the area.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I was lucky to get in. This hotel is pet friendly and Hurricane Irene was bringing in evacuees. My pup and I got a fabulous room and terrific service !! I would definitely stay here again. Thank you Chris at the main desk for making my stay (if only for one night) comfortable, affordable and so very pleasant. I was so tired from my trip - started in TX. My room was immaculate and smelled lovely. This is a night's stay you wouldn't want to miss; can you imagine if I 'd stayed longer - - would have been great !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
I am pleased we were able to take care of you and your pet during Hurricane Irene. It is unfortunate that your visit had to be due to evacuation procedures. Perhaps you could visit under better circumstances and we could supply you with a map of many points of interest in the area. There are many museums of varied interests, arts and craft shows, largest shopping complex in Southwest Virginia and scenic drives you could explore. Come visit, we would love to show you the beautiful Roanoke Valley.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We booked reservations at the MainStay Suites because of our daughter's softball team going to the National Softball Tournament in Va. We had no idea, how wonderful the accomodations and personnel would be. From the moment we arrived, our questions and needs were met, by wonderful people such as; Curtis and Ralph.

The room was very nice and would be a wonderful home away from home, if ever the need would arise that one would have to stay in a hotel or rental place for any length of time, either work relocation or to spend months in a warmer climate. The hotel in general had a fantastic manager's reception on Wednesday evening with many delicious finger foods served, free of charge. The morning breakfast was a phenomenal selection of both hot and cold foods, from waffles and sausage to a variety of cereals and yogurts... there really was no reason not to eat there. Of course all of these services were built into the very fair and reasonable rates.

The hotel is conveniently located near a mall and a great selection of restaurants. The hotel provides a limo service to pick-up or transport people from/to the airport and or the mall and surrounding businesses.

All in all the hotel was clean, neat and had wonderful people employed there. I would definitely recomend this location to anyone I know going to the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valueseeker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments concerning your recent stay, I am happy you enjoyed your visit to the Roanoke Valley. I will pass on your comments to the staff and we all hope you will visit the MainStay Suites Airport in the future.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Ms. Saunders always has a smile and tries to help in anyway she can. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and I was so pleased with the stay here. Thumbs up for quality care and service. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank troyleena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind words concerning your recent stay at the Mainstay Suites Airport. Ms. Saunders is a wonderful lady and takes great care of all of her guests. I will pass on your kind words to her.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The rooms were very clean and the staff were very professional and friendly.

Room Tip: Great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sgmassey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Mainstay Suites Airport. I am happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to a return visit.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeburn, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The rooms were great. We were pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness and cleanliness of the suites.
The staff were all extremely warm and helpful.

Room Tip: Our rooms were located on the front side of the motel. The view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at MainStay Suites Airport, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments concerning your recent stay at the MainStay Suites. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
4.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#3 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Airport

Property: MainStay Suites Airport
Address: 5080 Valley View Blvd NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#9 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#10 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — MainStay Suites Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home and stay longer for less at the pet-friendly MainStay Suites® Roanoke Airport in Roanoke, VA. We are conveniently located off of Interstates 81 and 581, less than two miles from the Roanoke Regional Airport and the Valley View Mall and close to the following popular attractions: Blue Ridge Parkway Dixie Caverns and Pottery Shop Mill Mountain Zoo Lewis-Gale Medical Center Field ballpark Spend time exploring the area, which offers a wide range of outdoor recreational activities like golfing, hiking, horseback riding, boating, fishing and swimming. A variety of restaurants, cocktail lounges and specialty shops are within walking distance. Our spacious suites will make your time with us enjoyable whether you’re here for days, weeks or even months. Each residential-style guest room includes fully-equipped kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, flat-screen television, hair dryer and iron. Additional complimentary offerings include: Free continental breakfast Free premium cable television with movie channels Free airport transportation Free high-speed Internet access Corporate travelers will appreciate our on-site business center, public computer, access to copy and fax services and meeting facilities. Start or finish the day with a workout in our exercise room and spend time relaxing by practicing your swing on our on-site putting green. Our extended stay hotel has ample free parking that can accommodate most vehicles and features laundry facilities on the property that are available for use at your convenience. Book your stay today at the MainStay Suites in Roanoke, VA and enjoy all of the luxuries of home for as long as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your MainStay Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Airport Hotel Roanoke
Mainstay Roanoke
Mainstay Suites Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing