We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good value.”
Review of Apple Valley Motel

Apple Valley Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apple Valley Motel
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Reviewed July 26, 2009

I stayed at Apple Valley Motel for one week. Reason for choosing it was its weekly rate and it was costing me $26 per night. Later on I changed my motel and found $30 per night (weekly rate) at Travelodge thats a lot reasonable place to stay. Here is my opinion about Apple Valley:

Liked
-------
1) Neat and clean room
2) Mountain view outside motel and on Franklin road
3) Good voice chat quality on wireless internet

Disliked
-------
1) Very small room
2) Bugs in room. I kept iching for atleast 5 nights
3) Small TV with unclear reception. Only basic channels
4) Traffic noise that disturbed (sometimes) late night
5) Small wash-basin and shower room
6) No incoming phone calls after 10:00pm as board gets closed
7) Before check-in, they mentioned that bedsheet will be changed once a week
8) Sense of discomfortness as for atleast 5 nights, no one else was staying (there were approx. 20 rooms I guess)... Very dark surroundings.... and the family who is running business goes to sleep after 10:00pm :))

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dannyboy-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2008

I have stayed at the Apple Valley a few times, most recently August 2008. The location is perfect for Blue Ridge Parkway vacationers like me. The room was clean, one of the two beds in the room squeaked badly every time we made even the slightest move. The shower was cold - no hot water in the morning. That was very dissapointing, particularly since I had been staying in campsites the previous days. I was expecting a motel to have a better shower than a campsite, this one did not. The bathrooms badly need major renovation. Bed was comfortable and nice, furnishings are spartan, I was looking for patio furniture, even cheap resin chairs would be have been welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PhilBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

I have stayed at the Apple Valley on numerous occasions and am just now reviewing it because TripAdvisor hadn't had it listed.

If safety and solitude are priorities for you, the Apple Valley is an ideal anchor spot when visiting the Valley. This facility meets basic needs. My room was satisfactorily clean.

No elevator here or available ice machine. I merely needed a place to sleep in between exploring around. I felt safe coming in at late hours.

Good rates are available when there aren't major events going on around the area.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilMissMuffet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

I was traveling with a cycling group and the motel was the most convenient in Roanoke to the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is an old motel run by a very nice Indian family. When we got there, the rooms were musty-smelling, but generally clean. There was no breakfast, but the owners did our laundry for a fee.
There were 3 problems that stand out in my mind:
1. Busy highway had a lot of truck noise all night.
2. Shower head and toilet innards needed replacing bad
3. Police came to the motel that night and spent a long time talking to some people in one of the rooms.
I would recommend this motel only if you want to be able to bicycle to the Blue Ridge Parkway as it is only .25 miles.

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank Sampsonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
2.3 mi away
Colony House Motor Lodge
Colony House Motor Lodge
#20 of 40 in Roanoke
131 reviews
1.8 mi away
Affordable Corporate Suites
Affordable Corporate Suites
#24 of 40 in Roanoke
8 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
Sleep Inn Tanglewood
#22 of 40 in Roanoke
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
3.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#7 of 40 in Roanoke
756 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Roanoke - Tanglewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Valley Motel

Address: 5063 Franklin Rd SW, Roanoke, VA 24014-6653
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Apple Valley Hotel Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing