We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of LongHorn Steakhouse

LongHorn Steakhouse
Ranked #31 of 466 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
547 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stopped for a late lunch, early dinner and the place was empty. The food was good and cooked properly. Server was good, but seemed to rush me out towards the end on the meal. This is a chain store and you know what to expect. Service is the difference to make a place like this stand out. I might go again next time I am in town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    70
    22
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What you'd expect from a steakhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went to Longhorn for the first time. It was a pleasant trip, nothing terribly exciting. The décor was western themed of course and the place was clean, especially the bathroom. The best way to describe them is another outback clone with subtle differences. The menu was a little on the pricey side but not too bad. Food was prepared well and quite good. Service was excellent. Our wait person was on the ball. Desserts we're good as well. The signature steaks we're a nice twist on the traditional. The only appetizer we got was the 'Tonion which was their version of a blumin onion. It had the typical sauce but I have to admit it was a bit better than the norm. Nowhere near as greasy as the typical deep fried onion. more or less onion petals drizzled with sour cream, quite nice. My son got the half pound burger and I personally wasn't thrilled with it. The meat by itself was very good, but the brioche bun, for me, left a bit to be desired with a slight taste somewhere between sweet and stale. All in all, a nice trip and I can recommend it for a good steak. I'll have to try it again for lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A steakhouse should know how to cook a steak”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Ate at Longhorn for the first time recently. Our server was obviously overwhelmed with tables and service was slow. After waiting close to 45 minutes for our food, our steaks we had ordered rare arrived medium well. The manager offered to get us new steaks after making a big show of brining plates to take away the overcooked ones. The second steaks came out overcooked again. By this time the rest of our party had finished eating and was ready to leave. When we cut into the second round of steaks, the manager asked "is that rare enough" while looking at another obviously overcooked steak. When we told him those were also overcooked, he asked us if we would be ok with eating them anyway. I understand that things get mixed up in the kitchen, but the sign of a great restaurant is how the mistakes are fixed and this was handled terribly. We gave up and since we'd now been there for close to two hours and still didn't have correctly cooked steaks. A meal for four was over $100..... for sloppy service and poorly prepared food. I honestly felt ripped off at the end of the meal. Too many great, local places out there with way better food and service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rkecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Steak With a Smile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This restaurant brings home that it is the people not the brand that makes any restaurant a success. From the Hostess to our server (Sidnie-if you can do so we highly recommend you request her. She was very pleasant, professional, happy and unflappable) to the Servers that brought our food they went out of their way to be cheerful. And not that phoney front of the house cheer, but a genuine liking of the diner's presence type.

We both had steaks that came out exactly as planned after an appetizer (the Asparagus) that came out hot and perfect, and not rushed. It was the height of Friday night dining and we had a great pace to our meal. Surprising coming from a churn and burn chain. This one gets it.

Treat your patrons nicely, give them their space and time and serve delicious and hot food in a casual atmosphere and they will be back. We will. This is the rare chain site that does it like a locally owned and run place. Thank you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chip1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I could stayed at home and cooked a better steak.And had better serves.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This Restaurant could be good if someone actually cared about the needs if a costumer having a over bearing manager tell me a Medrare steak should have a lil pink and make Me feel unconcerned.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank billyjmeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LongHorn Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing