We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I needed and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5070 Valley View Blvd, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Everything I needed and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I stayed in the Comfort Inn Airport for two nights, checking out today 3/17/12. I was in room 211. The hotel is conveniently located right off the interstate (which pretty much allows you to get anywhere in the city within minutes) and less than a minute from Valley View Mall. As a female traveling alone, safety was a big concern. I felt perfectly safe in the area where it was located. The lady who checked me in, Brenda, was outstanding. This is a woman who knows what customer service is all about. Not only was she quick, every time she saw me she called me by name and asked how my stay was going and if there was anything I needed. I have never had that type of respect at any hotel. The room had everything I needed and all was in good working order. One thing that stood out was a magnifying mirror in the bathroom! This was the first hotel I have ever seen that in. What a plus for those of us who need that bit of extra help seeing to apply our eye makeup! I had a king bed which was very comfortable, no complaints there. The hotel was very quiet. The breakfast was more than adequate with eggs, bacon, sausage patties (and I think even sausage gravy), a host of breads, bagels and mini muffins, a waffle maker, cereals, juices and coffee. The wireless internet was easy to join and worked great. This place is not the Ritz, so if that that type of place is important to you, skip it. If you just want a friendly place where you can get a good night's sleep in a safe place, chose this hotel. If I ever need to stay in a hotel in Roanoke again, I will definitely stay here! Brenda makes you feel welcome and as though you are the most valuable person staying there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hudd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    67
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
72
49
19
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Room was quiet and clean. Great customer service, an OK breakfast, and pet friendly. I would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kealakekua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I needed to catch a very early flight at Roanoke Airport and I selected this place for its great location and good reviews. The staff members were helpful, the room was great with very comfortable bedding and eating places are numerous and only 1/4 mile away. The price was reasonable and a relief when getting up very early to travel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tembo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This place was "just ok". No bug bites, but the rooms were a little older and had obviously not been renovated for a number of years. We stayed here as we were travelling from Canada to Florida, and we stopped at around midnight to sleep. The breakfast was ok. Had I read the reviews, I would have avoided this place. But alas ... I had no bug bites ... and we did get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J-J-9917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

after a long day of driving we stopped with no reservation and met Brenda who greeted us with such enthusiasm, unbelievable hospitality - she goes beyond the call of duty to make our day - she is a super plus for this staying at this hotel chain

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I was not impressed by this hotel due to customer service. When we checked in the lady working the front desk was very curt and rude. I realize it was late, but she didn't have to have such an attitude. She had the back of her desk piled with personal junk and it looked very messy. While I understand she may need her things, I don't find having personal hygeine items on display a sign of a very professional establishment. Then she didn't say anything about our dog until we checked into the room when she rudely called us and told us "we had to pay an additional fee." Which was fine. We normally like to stay at the Laquinta when we travel with our pets because the pets are free. We didn't realize there was a fee, and the lady was so rude about it. She even charged us more then the $25 pet fee, when it said $25. But it was late and we wanted to go to bed. Since it was only an additional $1 and some cents we let it go. The room was okay but it wasn't anything special. We did use our choice card and were able to get a late check out at 2pm which was nice. We did pay in cash and had to leave a $50 deposit at the front desk. We tried to put it on our card, but she didn't know how to do this. The following day when we went to check out and get our deposit back yet again the lady working the front desk was extremely rude. My mom asked for her deposit and instead of addressing my mother directly when speaking, she looked at the gentleman next to her and said, she was going to check a room. My mother had no clue she was talking about her room because she didn't address her directly. The next thing we witnessed was this beligerent lady bursting through the hotel door and we weren't checked out yet. I was in the room packing the rest of the stuff, and finishing getting dressed. I couldn't believe the lady came in the room without knocking, and she startled me and my dog. I have a wonderful guard dog, and if she feels I am in danger she will bark and protect me. The lady ran out of the room screaming about being attacked by my dog when my dog just barked at this intruder. I asked the lady why she didn't knock and she said, because when you check out your gone, and I said " Well we're not checked out yet, we're in the process of leaving" She stormed away because she knew she was wrong, and went back to the front desk to begin yelling at my mother about this same incident. When my mother tried to explain to her that she wasn't told "someone would be coming to check the room before she got her deposit back," this rude lady stated, "the woman the night before told her someone would have to check the room before the deposit would be returned to her" when my mom told her "no one told her this", and even though the lady wasn't there the night before, she started screaming at my mom stating my mom was wrong and was told about this. My mother was very upset by this unruly womans outburst and told her that she would be calling management which we will do. She also told her that "employees don't speak to customers in such a rude and demeaning way". The lady was huffing and puffing, and said she "didn't care if my mom called management" which leads us to believe she can care less for her job. This was a Monday morning when we checked out. I don't recall this women's name, but she should learn how to treat the public if she is going to work in the public. This hotel was nice and clean, and the beds were comfortable. There was a fridge in the room, but there was nothing so special about it that we would come back when the customer service was so terrible. There are hundreds of other hotels where the management hires employees who are nice and treat their customers with respect. I don't recommend this hotel to anyone because if employees represent an establishment this hotel rates at the bottom of the totem poll.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere where you are treated with respect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank briella01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I was very pleased with my stay at this hotel. The hotel was well kept and looked new. I was told that the hotel was fifteen years, it did not look it.The rooms all had microwaves and fridges in them. The bed was very comfortable. The showers had good water pressure and plenty of hot water. It had overall wonderfull atmosphere to it. I noticed that it was a gold award winner. This meant that it was in the top ten percent as far as customer satisfaction and I can believe this

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmm154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MainStay Suites Airport
MainStay Suites Airport
#12 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport
Address: 5070 Valley View Blvd, Roanoke, VA 24012-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#3 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#6 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Airport is near the Roanoke Regional Airport. We are steps from the Valley View Mall at the Smoke-free Comfort Inn Airport hotel, located off Interstate 581 in Roanoke, Va. We are two miles from the Roanoke Regional Airport and close to attractions that include: Roanoke Civic Center "Burgland Center", Hollins Univ ersity, Roanoke College, Salem Civic Center, Mill Mountain Zoo. Enjoy a variety of outdoor recreation within minutes of the hotel. Several restaurants, cocktail lounges, theaters and specialty shops are located in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Roanoke Airport Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing