We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IMAX Theater Was Sacrificed for Low Grade Artwork”

Taubman Museum of Art
Ranked #5 of 69 things to do in Roanoke
Attraction details
Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“IMAX Theater Was Sacrificed for Low Grade Artwork”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Taubman is simply a wanna-be art museum. Just because you fill it up with various displays of paper-mache items from all over the globe does not make it a great art museum.

D.R.I. ignorantly thought that the Taubman Art Museum was going to be this "magic magnet" to attract tons of tourists to downtown Roanoke, but they never came. If they had half a brain, they would have looked at how things were done better in other places, like Raleigh, NC ... where they stuck to the original plan and they INCLUDED an IMAX THEATER to help draw in more tourists. And it worked like a charm. Dumb, dumb D.R.I. and Roanoke City Gov't politicians. Shame on you for not being as smart as you thought you were.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank T-Bone_Steaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    89
    52
    16
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love art or don't go”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I visited the museum with friends and thought why not give it a try but not being a big art lover it was a bit of a mistake. Okay its free and looks impressive but if like me you are a bit of a Neanderthal when it comes to art then I wouldn't bother. We were in and out in 10 minutes but if you love your art then it is well worth the visit and the guides seemed very good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprises”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We needed to walk and this museum was within walking distance to our hotel. The first surprise was that it is free! The subsequent surprises occurred as we viewed the beautiful art: not everything can be photographed, but one particular collection that would appeal to the ladies who love purses and jewels, was Judith Leiber's collection of bags made out of beautiful jewels and Swarovsky crystal... Breathtaking! A few other surprises entailed works by very renowned artists which we did not anticipate seeing anywhere outside Paris or D.C. What a great find!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank competent_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem in Roanoke”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

On a recent visit to Roanoke with "girlfriends," we were taken to the Taubman Museum of Art. What a gem! It is a beautiful place with wonderful exhibits -AND- a tour guide who was fabulous, entertaining, knowledgable and obviously LOVED her job. Although there were no children in our group, I checked out the art playroom--a fabulous area for children to create and have fun. A beautiful gift shop was another bonus. A definite Roanoke MUST-SEE!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Fantastic tour”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

On a recent visit to Roanoke , I had the pleasure of visiting the Taubman Museum of Art. It was a wonderful experience. We were treated to a personal tour by a most informative and entertaining guide. The tour was informative and enjoyable. I would highly recommend this museum as a must- see on a trip to the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taubman Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing