We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wannabe museum” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Taubman Museum of Art

Taubman Museum of Art
Ranked #8 of 65 things to do in Roanoke
Attraction details
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wannabe museum”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

It's hard to imagine how this could be any worse. A big, avant garde building, the museum is shoehorned in among a bunch of early 20th century brick structures. It looks totally out of place. Add to that the fact that the ground/ entry floor is in a flood plain and cannot display any art and you begin to get the picture. Once you get to the second floor, there is precious little to see, and apparently not enough money to bring in good traveling exhibitions.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    78
    45
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What's art?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We visited the museum today. The transitional exhibit was the best part. It was a photo journey of Black Americans and civil rights. Some of the other exhibits I had to ask myself, "Who decides this is art?" There are some great pieces, but if you are like me and don't really have a BIG appreciation of art it might not be worth the trip. However, if you are just visiting Roanoke, it's free and something to do downtown.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sntg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Eye Sore of Roanoke”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have never visited the TMA, but from what I am told, not much to see and the view on the outside is a real eye sore for out beautiful city

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not great, but worth a look”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The building is spectacular and a great addition to downtown Roanoke. For a small city museum it's pretty good. I was looking for their collection of folk art I had loved years ago when the museum was in the old building. Only a few pieces were on view. Lots of modern art that's interesting. A fabulous Sargeant and some nice American work from 19th century. Very moving civil rights era photo exhibit. Judith Leiber purses on display. Why? John Lennon/Yoko Ono peace exhibit a strange choice for an art museum. Put out more art and less fluff. Nice little museum shop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank plant-nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun building - thought provoking exhibition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I like the building. It's light and airy and has endless potential for the many different exhibitions that must pass through. I was particularly moved by the exhibition of photos from the civil rights movement

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WestleyFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taubman Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing