We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the midst of updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taubman Museum of Art

Taubman Museum of Art
Ranked #5 of 69 things to do in Roanoke
Attraction details
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
“In the midst of updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I think new exhibits will be coming soon. It was ok. Very pretty. Very spacious. Loved the openess. Not a lot to see.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    87
    51
    16
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great time at the Taubman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

It is funny how many of us that live in an area with museums or other attractions dont take the time to visit them. I visited the museum last week and was thoroughly impressed. It was not just a bunch of big old paintings. Give it try!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJordan24017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great kids' room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The kids absolutely loved playing in the children's room. We were there for over an hour and they didn't want to see any other part of the museum. We will definitely be back on Saturday when it's free.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JTess1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gem in the Mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Really nice little art museum. Not a huge collection, but what they have is great. American artists from the mid-1800s to early 1900s. Outstanding Fabrege exhibit. I spent a pleasant hour there between meetings. Gift shop has local artists as well as the standard museum fare.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank VAPrgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Taubman”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This art musum is worth a trip to Roanoke, Va. It's unusual architecture is just the beginning so take the time to admire the structure from all sides before entering. It's collections are on the second floor accessed by a grand glass staircase. Once on the second floor you will view a special permanent exhibit of Judith Lieber handbags. Sound mundane? Au contraire, my friend. These functional baubles will keep your interest for a good while. Visit all the galleries then have a libation and some comestibles at Nora's Cafe located on the ground floor.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank vaart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taubman Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing