We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great drinks, average service”
Review of Local Roots

Local Roots
Reserve with OpenTable
Local Roots is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 476 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Memorial Ave
Boerne, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, great drinks, average service”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Went to Local Roots during our recent visit to Roanoke. Envinroment and atmosphere was fresh and modern. Drinks and beer selection was good. Good variety of food items and food was good. Service was average at best and had a long wait time between service providings. Dessert was the least desirble. Would definitely try again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jshdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    95
    36
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beyond delicious. ”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here for Sunday brunch. We each had the buttermilk biscuit with pork belly, cheddar, pickles, and home fries and had a flourless chocolate cake for dessert. We love the farm to table movement and knew it would be delicious, but we were still surprised at how great this locally sourced cuisine really was. HIGHLY recommend, even if it's out of your way.

Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great way to celebrate 43 years”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We used the celebration of our 43rd wedding anniversary to dine at Local Roots. If you are ever in Roanoke, VA you must go here. We went for dinner. The staff was very friendly and willing to take time to answer the questions we had about many of their menu offerings. And the menu options are fresh, local and full of unbelievable flavors. And you have to save room for a dessert. As an example of how unique Local Roots is we had Buttermilk panna cotta...sorrel ice cream, strawberry ice and malted milk crumb. If Kelly is working, ask to be seated in her area. And by all means don't be shy about asking for suggestions.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simmerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Freshness you can actually taste!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

One of the best overall dining experiences I've ever had ... hands down. The staff is friendly and attentive. The food is out of this world. You can actually taste the freshness. The apple vinaigrette dressing topped the salad perfectly. That was complimented nicely by the pork shoulder in linguinii that melted in your mouth. If I had more time in town I would have returned to try their weekday menu.

Helpful?
2 Thank JOE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Utterly excellent lunch - fresh, half price wine (!), great flavors”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

What a surprise! There needs to be more restaurants like this - focus on the flavors and not on unnecessary nonsense. We had a vegetarian sandwich and salad. The sandwich was kale with sweet potato - not terribly unique one might think. Wrong, this was one of the best sandwiches I have had and the bread toasted with a hint of olive oil was supreme.

Don't miss this. I've paid 4X as much for meals in big cities. This kills most of them.

Oh and bring your dog to the patio out front...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank manu_sarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Local Roots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing