We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Farm to table dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Local Roots

Local Roots
Reserve with OpenTable
Local Roots is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 467 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Memorial Ave
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Farm to table dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

This is one of my favorite spots to wine & dine. The food is all fresh, mostly local & impeccably prepared. The portions are very small so don't go here if your starving. The prices are high, but the ambience is great, located in the very cute Grandin Village. Dinner here & a movie at the Grandin Theatre make for a lovely evening!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelylisa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    89
    32
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Amazing service, amazing food, and an amazing experience! We dined with friends for a bachelorette dinner. The service staff was extremely attentive (Marvin was awesome) and the food was extraordinary. I will definitely be a repeat customer. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank tbmoorefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Great beer! Wonderful food! Great prices! We loved the service as well and really enjoyed the food and beer here. Love Local Roots!

Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“High quality dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Local roots prides on its farm-to-table concept and delivers it well. We've been there 3 times so far, twice for dinner, once for brunch and we never left disappointed. The ingredients are excellent and they are cooked perfectly. I definitely recommend it for a date or small group gathering.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at Local Roots, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Jack D., Thank you for your very thoughtful review of your recent dinner at Local Roots - a Farm to Table Restaurant and for seeking us out on your trip north. As you experienced, everything we serve is very fresh, grown locally, and at its peak of flavor. You made some good choices with the spinach salad, the cheese plate and the pork belly salad, so you got a good overview of what we do. The condiments on the cheese plate we make in- house. As for the apple cake, so glad you enjoyed it. We love it when someone is so discerning and appreciative of our food. Please come back and see us again. All the best, Diane Elliot, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
277 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Outstanding dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a wonderful farm to table restaurant! We were headed north and added an extra night to our trip so we could dine at Local Roots, and it was well worth it!

We had one of the Petite plates which was the Bloomsdale Spinach Salad topped with Asher Bleu cheese, spiced pecans, black radish and sorghum-mustard vinaigrette. The combination was outstanding. The local spinach is nothing like store purchased, mass produced spinach. It appeared to be a curly spinach that had more texture and body that store bought varieties.

We had two of the Modest plates as well. First was the Artisanal Cheese plate, with the seven cheeses and the housemade crackers. They were served on a slate plate and had loss of garnishes and things to dip the cheese in. The cheeses on this vary from day today as one would expect.

The second Modest plate was the Leaping Waters Pork Belly which is really a salad with an excellently prepared piece of pork belly. It was served with Bibb lettuce, Pink Lady apples, and roasted salsify and green garlic. It was exceptional!

For desert, are out the Apple Cake served with brown butter ice cream, spiced peanuts and a buttermilk sauce. Awesome! We also had the Glace and Sorbet sampler, the sorbet was raspberry and the glace was carrot and ginger. Both were excellent. We did not know what to expect from the carrot and ginger, but it turned out to be a great pairing!

LR has an open kitchen so you can see the chef's preparing everything,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E, Owner at Local Roots, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear orreo, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent lunch experience at Local Roots - a Farm to Table Restaurant. Yes, the Ancient White Park Beef burger with our house made pimento cheese is a winner. So glad you enjoyed it. Our beers on draft are constantly cycling through and seasonal so next time you come there will likely be a whole new set of beers to try out.
Glad you got good direction from your server. We look forward to next time you are in Roanoke and can serve you again. All the best, Diane Elliot, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Local Roots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing