We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm to Table Artistry”
Review of Local Roots

Local Roots
Reserve with OpenTable
Local Roots is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 498 Restaurants in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Memorial Ave
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I stopped in Roanoke on our way to Washington, D.C. from Knoxville. We decided on Local Roots for dinner- online reviews looked good and we like to support farm to table efforts. As it turned out, we had an unexpectedly incredible dining experience.

Everything on the menu looked interesting so we opted for small plates to share- ordering some of this and that and getting plenty to eat in the process. All of it was perfectly prepared and totally delicious. I have to say, we were completely amazed at the creative use of ingredients and presentation of each and every dish. It's certainly fresh local but that's only a place to start. Each dish is seemingly designed by a molecular cuisine chef who then has a food stylist finish the plates. This is art you can eat and man, is it good. I've only seen presentation of cuisine on this level at places like Catbird Seat in Nashville, Versace's Villa in South Beach or St. John's in Chattanooga. It was astonishing- and very gratifying- to see plate after yummy plate delivered to our table at a small neighborhood bistro in Roanoke instead of being at some hugely expensive big city venue. Everything we ordered was superb, not to mention very reasonably priced.

Service was good- friendly and efficient- and the owner came by to chat a time or two. The wine list could use some further thought- it's a bit thin and struggles to keep up with the brilliant menu- but that's easy enough to remedy.

Don't miss the Textures of Beets plate- a tour de force of beety goodness and culinary creativity. The cold white beet borscht, the handmade fettuccine and the strawberries with feta, greens and bacon crumbles were awesome. Desserts were knock-outs- all fantastic, complex, beautiful and seductive- what more could you ask for?

Do yourself a favor and go eat here. We certainly plan to do it again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfwomanRoanokeVA, Owner at Local Roots, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Allen C., Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your recent experience at Local Roots - A Farm to Table Restaurant in Roanoke, Virginia. You clearly know food and presentation and put us in some very good company. We are constantly striving to be the best we possibly can be in all facets of our restaurant. It is very gratifying to hear how much you enjoyed your experience. We also appreciate your comment about the wine list being rather thin and will follow up accordingly. I enjoyed a bit of a chat with you both and surely hope you will look us up again in your travels.
All the best, Diane Elliot, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 435 of 486 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

While their story is good and authentic, the food was average. Quite expensive for the portion size as well. Our waiter was nice but he was only going through the motions. No real passion or interest in our welfare. Maybe because they are a hot place they have lost a notch.

Thank dmbkDallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfwomanRoanokeVA, Owner at Local Roots, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear dmbkDAllasTX, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Local Roots - A Farm to Table Restaurant. Of course, we are sorry that you were disappointed in your experience. It would help us greatly if you would be so kind as to tell us when you were there and approximately where you sat. We want to look into this; we keep records for such purposes. Your reference to the food being expensive for the portion size makes me wonder if you ordered some of our smaller dishes. The menu is divided into Petite, Moderate and Substantial. The first mentioned is appetizer -sized and the last one is entree- sized. It would be helpful to know what you had so we can assess the situation. I am concerned that you feel we have lost a notch due to being a "hot place". Fortunately, we have received numerous very positive customer comment cards recently that we put in the check presenters. We constantly strive for each guest to have an excellent experience. Somehow maybe we dropped the ball with you. Did you let your server know that you were uhappy with prortion size? We very much want our guests to be happy and bend over backwards to correct any situaion if we know about it. Again, thank you for your input. We learn from all the reviews. Please reply to me diane@localrootsrestaurant.com with your information so we can correct anything for our next guests. I hope you will give us another chance. Many thanks, Diane W.Elliot, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Last night we tried this restaurant with two others friends. While the food was excellent quality, the portion sizes were so small that we all left hungry enough to stop elsewhere and get something more to eat. The salad they served for the table could have fed one person. The escolar was smaller than a typical Gorton's fish filet, and the amount of grits it was served over was equal to around 2 tablespoons, if that. The house meatloaf was excellent, but there couldn't have been 5 bites worth of meat along with the three skinny asparagus that lay on top of the meal. Local Roots is worth trying, but only if you have a very small appetite or are looking for a light snack size meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cgandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfwomanRoanokeVA, Owner at Local Roots, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear cgandme, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at Local Roots - a Farm to Table Restaurant. We are glad you felt the food was excellent and, of course, are disappointed that you felt the portions were too small. It is true that on Sunday evening we have a different meal service than the rest of the week. Sunday evening is a smaller menu and served family-style with bowls and platters as you experienced. However, this does not mean that we want you to go away hungry, just the opposite. We want our guests to be fully satisfied with their meal. Did your server know that you needed more food? We would have gladly brought more. We are there to serve our guests and make sure they are happy. Do you happen to remember about when you were in and where you sat? This will help us follow up in-house. We deeply apologize for your skimpy experience and would like to offer you a gift card so you can return and give us another chance. We would like to correct this situation. You are welcome to reply online or to me at diane@localrootsrestaurant.com with your address/phone number and we can get the card to you. Again, thank you for writing the review. We learn from all the feedback.
Best, Diane Elliot, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Quite well presented. Wonderful atmosphere. True the menu is limited but it is all FRESH from the farm, couldn't ask for better. The Sweet Potato soup was delicious. I had the Trout and it was perfectly cooked and almost melted melted away with each bite. My wife and Son had Lamb Confit that was truly out of this world tender and actually did not taste like any Lamb we had ever eaten.

To Diane and all the staff of Local Roots a very well done.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LinDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We'd called late Saturday afternoon to see if we needed reservations, and was told yes, absolutely, they were booked solid; so we made reservations for 8:00, but when we got there, half the tables were open (so did we really need those reservations?) The selection of entrees was somewhat limited, but what was there was creative. My husband had the lamb, I had mushroom risotta -- both were good and beautifully presented, but not extraordinary. The cheese place that we shared as an appetizer was EXCELLENT. Beer selection was good, mixed drink selection was clever, don't know about desserts. Ambience was elegant but comfortable, and our waiter was fantastic. Would go there again.

Thank RobinL270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Local Roots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing