We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King George Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George Inn
Save
You added King George Inn to your Saves list
315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We spent a night at the King George Inn last weekend. It is a beautiful, well furnished home with the most comfortable beds. Breakfast was delicious! Very centrally located to everything in downtown Roanoke. Wish we had more time to see everything in town. We'll be back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Hello Katy!
Thanks for the gracious reveiw. Yes, there is so much to see and do here in Roanoke, one day just isn't enough time. We'll do the "Black Dog Salvage " together...I love that place. Be sure and catch their television show. til next time.
Lynn and Jim
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    22
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
112
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We just left Roanoke after staying a night at the King George Inn. We were graciously welcomed by owners Jim and Lynn. The house is gorgeous, we'll cared for, and the rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast was amazing- mango parfait, asparagus, blueberry muffins and a wonderful egg and biscuit soufflé. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amydoerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our entire family stayed here for a weekend and we loved it! Jim and Lynn were gracious hosts who went out of their way to accommodate us. The rooms are large and well appointed, and the breakfasts were delicious. Homemade cookies and free bottles of water, great restaurant recommendations, and a convenient location - this is a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We also enjoyed your lovely family; thank you for choosing the King George Inn and thank you for your gracious TA review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were on our way to Ga and booked a room at the King George Inn as our halfway stop.
LUCKY FOR US. The Inn was still decorated for Christmas and was so welcoming. We stayed in the King George room which was beautiful and had a good night's sleep in the king sized bed. Breakfast was one of Lynn's special creations and conversation at the table was lively.

On our trip home we stopped there again and were warmly welcomed like old friends by Lynn and Jim. Another good nights sleep, another great breakfast and a couple of hugs and we were on our way refreshed and energized. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Love the King size bed in the King George room, but all the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your gracious TA response...we'll watch for you.
Lynn and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candler, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Such a beautiful home! Large and well-proportioned but made so very cozy by the warmth and graciousness of its owners, Jim and Lynn Hunt. Our stay was perfect in every way and the festive Christmas decorations all around the house really put us in the holiday mood. Breakfast was scrumptious! (Lynn - I found the special yogurt and brought some home to Asheville!)

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely as far as I could tell. Ours was right off the reading alcove with the Vic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
thank you for the lovely review. It is most appreciated. We wish you a wonderful holiday season and a Merry Christmas.
Sincerely,
Lynn and Jim Hunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Me and my coworker Laura stopped at the King George Inn while on a road trip from New York to Nashville.

Lynn and Jim were amazing hosts, kind and hospitable. The food was delicious and the rooms were very cosy and comfortable.

I strongly recommend it!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have to say that this was a fantastic B&B! My husband and I stayed with Lynn and Jim through the thanksgiving holiday and we had a wonderful time. They have a beautiful B&B that feels like home and we felt like family from the moment we walked in. We have never been to Roanoke and didn't really know anything about the area. Lynn and Jim know the city well and made several awesome recommendations. We visited all of the museums, restaurants, shops, and areas that they recommended and had a wonderful relaxing time. It kept us busy for 4 days. I can't say enough good things about the King George Inn. If you want to stay at a home away from home then this is the place to be!
We will definitely be staying there again when we head out to Virginia.

Thank you so much for the wonderful time in Roanoke and for inviting us to have Thanksgiving with your family.
Rollie and Laura

Room Tip: The King George room has a view of the "star" which is pretty at night. Check it out by s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We were proud to host this newly wed Marine couple in our home and say a prayer of Thanksgiving for their service to our country. We wish them much happiness a safe return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 39 in Roanoke
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Inn

Property: King George Inn
Address: 315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored, 1900's Georgian Colonial. Four spacious suites with private baths and sitting room. Art Gallery and original art throughout mixed with vintage furniture and Persian rugs. The Inn is located in historic old Southwest with a perfect view of the Mill Mountain Star. Close to downtown, museums, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Appalachian Trail. A gourmet breakfast is served on your time schedule...come see us, we'll leave the star on for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing