We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway, as well as, for visiting your daughter at Hollin's Uiversity”
Review of King George Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Great Getaway, as well as, for visiting your daughter at Hollin's Uiversity”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

When we went to parent's weekend to see our daughter at Hollin's University, we decided to not do the traditional hotel we always go to and went w/ a bed and breakfast. I actually work at a bed and breakfast so I'm a little more critical than most. We arrived late, but they were super sweet to let us in and we went straight to bed in the cozy Charlotte room (room is Much larger than in photo and bathroom was enormous). They fed us a fabulous gluten-free breakfast, as they advertised...pears and yogurt was perfect to start with. I didn't even miss not having a TV in the bedroom and found a quiet spot in a comfy antique chair to read for awhile. We had a great day w/ my daughter at the Roanoke star, zoo and I highly recommend the Metro restaurant on the square. If you are looking for a nice spot to spend a few days or visiting your student at Hollins, I would recommend this quaint and artfully decorated Inn...We will definitely be back. To the Owners, thank you for giving us a relaxing weekend and wonderful memory...If you come to Charleston, SC, please stop by the Inn at Ion where I work so I can wait on you next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    25
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
124
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

stayed only one night in the largest room we ever stayed in a B&B with good sized bathroom; had an easy 20-minute walk to the downtown Roanoke area for dinner - great restaurants and shops; also had an excellent breakfast with pleasant and knowledgeable innkeepers and guests.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank psenior71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Inn Keepers Jim and Lynn Hunt define "Southern Hospitality". My husband and I began our trip on the Blue Ridge Parkway in Roanoke, and the Inn was only 5 miles from the access point! I can't stress enough the following: Spacious Suite, with Luxury Linens and a terrific mattress, Beautiful Artwork, Furnishings, and best of all was the gourmet breakfast that Lynn prepared! It was not only scrumptious, there was a lot of it. It was presented in the dining room on lovely china, we wanted for nothing at the King George Inn. We are so impressed with the city of Roanoke that we want to go back and spend time there. We have had the good fortune of traveling and staying in some fine hotels, this is one that we are looking forward to returning.

Most Sincerely,

Rebekah and Michael Thompson

Room Tip: The King George Room for sure! In looking around the house, it occurred to us that we could bring ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, berkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

we were pleasantly

surprised to find ourselves in such an elegant house and had a very warm welcome also from

Lynne and Jim. With cake and tea in the afternoon. Extremely comfortable room in great location. To be recommended

Room Tip: All the rooms are very comfortable and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinersoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

For the third visit, just as wonderful as the first. Bed, food, atmosphere...everything great. We especially enjoy the King George Room. The king bed is like sleeping on clouds. Thanks Jim and Lynn for making us feel so welcome in your home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and loyalty! We so enjoy greeting our returning "family".
Kind regards,

Lynn and Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wife and I have stayed at several B&Bs across the country. This was our favorite. Lynne was out of town but Jim took incredible care of us. The house is fantastic and food was the best we've ever had at a B&B. Convenient to everything in the area. I can't recommend it enough. You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 126RoyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Jim and Lynne were fantastic hosts and made us very welcome the rooms were clean and the inn was exceptional value for money. Our stay in Roanoke was a two night stop off on our journey across the states and the town was interesting. If you have time visit the Taubmann museum.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stemasbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
726 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn at Valley View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Inn

Property: King George Inn
Address: 315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-5212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored, 1900's Georgian Colonial. Four spacious suites with private baths and sitting room. Art Gallery and original art throughout mixed with vintage furniture and Persian rugs. The Inn is located in historic old Southwest with a perfect view of the Mill Mountain Star. Close to downtown, museums, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Appalachian Trail. A gourmet breakfast is served on your time schedule...come see us, we'll leave the star on for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing