We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of King George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King George Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a very pleasant visit this past weekend at the KGI. The inn is actually even nicer than it looks on their website. The house itself is a beautiful historic Georgian mansion with very large, well decorated rooms and high ceilings throughout. We stayed in the Queen Victoria room - elegant, spacious, and very comfortable. The large soaking tub is an added bonus. Breakfast was wonderful as advertised, and the innkeepers Jim and Lynn were just as friendly and helpful as other reviews on TripAdvisor indicate. They also were happy to share some fascinating local history, and recommendations for things to do in the area. For the price, the KGI can't be beat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 212 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Inn mid-week on our way from Nashville to Richmond. Jim and Lynn were excellent hosts. They have a beautiful old home in excellent condition with comfortable beds. Lynn prepared a delicious breakfast before we resumed our travels. Their knowledge of local restaurants and attractions is amazing. Located in the historical district, it is not hard to find and within walking distance of good places for dinner. Glad we chose to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRFarrellSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Jim and Lynn are justifiably proud of the restoration of there stately 1906 house. The house, room, and breakfast were all outstanding! We found Lynn's description of the history of Roanoke coupled with the many different lives of the house (private residence, doctor's office, apartment building, and B&B) very interesting.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljfleisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I live near Roanoke and so I am familiar with many of the local lodging options. Of course, I have a favorite. When the opportunity arises for a quick week-end get away to shop and enjoy the downtown Roanoke market place area, you can't beat the King George Inn for a perfect place to stay. Lynn & Jim totally spoil all of their guests. The house is a magnificant, well restored, historical Roanoke mansion. The location is perfect for enjoying the downtown area, and what a treat to come home to the KGI after enjoying one of the many downtown Roanoke festivals (presently the "Dickens of a Christmas" when I stayed with Lynn & Jim). 5 stars! A+! Bravo!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have so enjoyed my mutiple visits to this inn! I don't think the pictures capture just how beautiful and charming this place is! The house has been immaculately cared for over the years therefore many of the moldings, tiles and fireplace mantels are original and in rare form. The best part of this inn?....The dedicated and loving inn keepers-Jim & Lynn! WIthout them the King George Inn would not be the comfortable, welcoming, unique spot that it is. They have made this historic home a place where visitors want to be. A plus? Lynn is an artist and displays her pieces as well as others around the home, her culinary skills are artistic and yummy too. Jim is a gentlemen with an interesting past and warm character and he even carries up your suitcase! Both bring a uniqueness that makes you feel like your extended family! Oh, don't forget to take the short walk for dinner at WildFlour-I think one of the best spots in town!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaska16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for the gracious review..and...for "better than a Pro" posted Photos...I enjoyed seeing them. Safe travels.
L&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Jim and Lynn are some of the nicest people I have ever met! They are gracious and hospitable. My husband and I visited for several nights for our 1 year anniversary and had a great time touring around Roanoke. They were very helpful with directions and fun things to do. The queen Charlotte room we stayed in was very nice. The bed was very comfortable! The food for breakfast was very good....it felt like your mom was cooking for you. Lynn gave us a tour of her kitchen since she knew we were foodies. Will definitely stay here again if we come back to Roanoke to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Lynn and Jim are the kind of people who if they lived in a tent in a field, would welcome you in and look after your every need. Fortunately for us travellers they live in a beautifully restored Victorian house in the historic district of Roanoke. Inside, the decor and furnishing are a tribute to their good taste and the walls are enlivened by paintings including some for sale by Lynn, who is an accomplished watercolour artist. Comfortable bed and cooked to order breakfast round off the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COUNCILLORJACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#7 of 40 in Roanoke
762 reviews
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
4.2 mi away
Shirley's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Inn

Address: 315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-5212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range: $152 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored, 1900's Georgian Colonial. Four spacious suites with private baths and sitting room. Art Gallery and original art throughout mixed with vintage furniture and Persian rugs. The Inn is located in historic old Southwest with a perfect view of the Mill Mountain Star. Close to downtown, museums, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Appalachian Trail. A gourmet breakfast is served on your time schedule...come see us, we'll leave the star on for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your King George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing