We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended b&b”
Review of King George Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roanoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Roanoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
1 review
“highly recommended b&b”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

my wife and i spent 4 days recently at the King George Inn in Roanoke and had a wonderful time. the Inn is beautiful, spacious and welcoming. the gourmet breakfast is excellent. the rooms are well appointed and tasteful. the private baths were one of my favorite draws. artwork was displayed throughout the home from the thriving roanoke art scene.(the lady of the house is an accomplished artist herself) i would highly recommend this b&b for a relaxing vacation. and i definitely will return!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    25
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
124
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Charming spacious century home; correct period appointments and detail; engaging hosts; excellent breafast; central location

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinggeorgeinn, Owner at King George Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words. We wish you a boutiful and blessed Thanksgiving.
Kind regards,
Lynn & Jim
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My sister and I made a hasty trip to Virginia from middle Tennessee and spent one night at the King George Inn in Roanoke last weekend. We found it to be spacious, clean, and welcoming, with coffee setup and snacks for the guests, along with a refrigerator in which we could have stored beverages. Our room was large, and the bathroom was modern. The bed was comfortable, and I have a finicky back. The room was a bit light for my taste (I like really dark, and blinds and sheers just don't black out a room.) Jim and Lynn, the innkeepers, are friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was dee-licious and interesting, both in flavor and presentation- a cut above other places I've stayed. After I returned, Jim emailed me to say he had a ring of mine- before I knew I'd lost it. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Oak, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Great place to stay. Two downstairs sitting areas, one with a giant TV. Nice breakfast...fruit parfait, german pancakes, two sausage links, juice, coffee...served in a stately dining room with beautiful table setting. Grand staircase up to guest rooms. Another common sitting area. Well lit and comfortable. Each room had private bath, comfy beds, and chocolates! Very quiet. Never heard the other guests. Neighborhood is historic area.
Would stay there again!

Room Tip: Any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The house is a late 19th century upper class home in original condition. The furniture was beautiful and the appointments appropriate for the period. The food was gourmet without being too exotic for middle class tastes. The room was very nice and very clean. The hosts, Jim and Lynn were very accomodating and advised us on good restaurants and sites around Roanoke. They were very knowledgeable, and made our visit extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinggeorgeinn, Innkeeper at King George Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thank you for your kind and generous review.

Lynn andJim Hunt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The owners were very social. Upon our arrival there were no amenities. Our room had no TV and no cups and the patio was dirty. Also, there was only one little chair. It was not a welcoming or comfortable room. The breakfast was fine, but one little sausage for each person.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We had a family reunion in Roanoke and rented the whole B & B for 4 days. There were 9 adults and it did feel like our home. Jim and Lynn were gracious hosts helping us when needed yet we were comfortable to move around the whole house and use it like a home. We even threw a party for some Roanoke friends. They are very helpful ( even mailed a box home for me). The Inn has wonderful architectural elements for a charming home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanannselvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
0.3 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Cambria Hotel & Suites
#4 of 40 in Roanoke
735 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
6.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Inn

Property: King George Inn
Address: 315 King George Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-5212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly restored, 1900's Georgian Colonial. Four spacious suites with private baths and sitting room. Art Gallery and original art throughout mixed with vintage furniture and Persian rugs. The Inn is located in historic old Southwest with a perfect view of the Mill Mountain Star. Close to downtown, museums, restaurants, the Blue Ridge Parkway and the Appalachian Trail. A gourmet breakfast is served on your time schedule...come see us, we'll leave the star on for you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing