We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet, Clean, Comfortable lodging in a time of uncertainty...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cambria Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean, Comfortable lodging in a time of uncertainty...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days while I was visiting a close relative that was in the Carilion Memorial Hospital that is about 2 blocks away. We were given a discounted rate of $90.00 through the hospital. Our room was of a decent size with 2 queen beds and a sofa sleeper. The beds were soft and comfortable with high quality linens. The sofa bed is what you would expect a sofa bed to be. The room has 2 32" Flat screen televisions with a wide variety of cable channels offered (including HBO and Showtime) The bathroom was modern suited our needs well. Also in the room was a small microwave and a small refrigerator. Large enough to to store 3 take out containers as well as quite a few bottles of water and a bottle of wine.

The lobby is very inviting with plenty of seating and wired internet ports as well as wireless throughout. The restaurant is in the lobby. Although it was never crowded, the food was very good, we had no complaints even though there is not a wide variety of offerings on the menu. You'll need a car because there is not another restaurant within walking distance.

Kudos to the staff!!! EVERYONE we encountered was polite, helpful and informative. They allowed us to borrow a DVD player one night to watch DVDs we had rented.

This hotel is quiet. They service people needing to be close to the hospital very well. I highly recommend it if thats what brings you to Roanoke.
Business Center, fitness center, washer and dryer are all on site. Covered (FREE) parking in the basement also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
What a great review! Such clear detail about our property! If your travels bring you back to the Roanoke Valley keep in mind that our shuttle drivers will gladly take you anywhere you want to go within 10 miles Monday through Friday - yes even to other restaurants!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    167
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
216
144
35
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is new, modern, and fresh and the best hotel we stayed in on a recent trip down the Blue Ridge Parkway. I liked being able to park my car in the garage underneath too. The only negative is that there is no complimentary breakfast, and when you're watching your time, this is important. We had breakfast at the well known The Roanoker, about a mile away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The covered parking is convenient especially for motorcycles. At this time of year with the leaves turning a drive down the parkway is a beautiful sight! On your next trip I invite you to try our Blueberry Muffin French Toast with Nutmeg Cream!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

It had been one of those disaster days, when a shortish trip from Washington turned into a long ordeal on the road. Never having been to Roanoke or a Cambria Suite before, I was expecting a dismal end to the day in cookie-cutter accomm with staff who weren't too happy to manage late, late arrivals. Couldn't have been more wrong; this place is the surprise stay of a year that has taken me from Vientiane to Dubbo to New York and many places in between. The front desk was brilliantly and warmly managed by Robin, who had us in our rooms in a few short minutes with the kindly offer of an extended checkout if we needed more time to settle our frazzled nerves. Robin: I hope there is some award for staff who can make you feel like a long-lost friend who has turned up unexpectedly and needs some TLC ... you get mine! Rooms are big, comfortable and spacious with lots of fluffy towels, nice soaps and two plasma TVs. Well done Cambria Suites: I'll be looking out for you in the future based on the Roanoke VA experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkippyHops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I have of course share your comments with the staff her and Robin was absolutely glowing at your impression of her. We do reward and value our employees and she surely got a big vote from you! We hope to see you again in your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband had a doctor's appointment at a clinic in Roanoke on 10-04-13. I called Cambria Suites several days before inquiring about a suite. The desk clerk was very friendly Upon our arrival to the hotel on 10-03-13 we were greeted with a smile from all staff. They were very informative and hospitable. Service from the restaurant was great . The food was were well prepared. The suite was clean , with 2 queen size beds, 2 flat screen televisions, sofa,refrigerator and microwave. The clinic my husband went to was within walking distance from the hotel. Although my husband was ill, the hospitality and accommadations provided made our stay seem more like a vacation than a doctor visit. I would highly recommend this hotel and actually have recommended it to family and friends. Thank you so much Cambria Suites

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eulalia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hospital and Clinic visits can be very stressful and we make it our mission to make our guests feel comfortable while they are here! So glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We live in Roanoke and recently had to choose a hotel for a quick overnight stay due to house renovations. This hotel was very clean, had a friendly front desk and had large rooms. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you choosing us for your overnight stay! I hope that your renovations went well and that you keep us in mind if you ever need us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I recently visited Roanoke to interview at the new Virginia Tech medical school, and I stayed at the Cambria suites nearby. I must say that I had a very positive experience here that really exceeded my expectations. The entire hotel is modern, relatively new, and very clean. My room was a super spacious suite with two TV's and a comfortable king sized bed, and it was better than pretty much every Hilton and Hyatt that I've stayed in, The staff was very friendly and attentive to my needs, and the food was excellent. It was too bad I had to leave early for my interview the next day !

Room Tip: If you are visiting the medical school or the nearby hospital, I would look no further than this hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsmart549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are so glad that you chose us! I am looking out my window at the VTC Campus right now! I hope that you had a successful interview and return to stay with us while you look for permanent housing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed there for three days on business. The rooms were modern, but comfortable. If there had been a balcony, honestly I could have lived there! The meals were ok, but pricey. The service was very good and the staff was responsive. Not much in the immediate area, just fields so you are confined to the hotel unless you take the shuttle into downtown Roanoke.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel! Service is what sets us apart from the competition! Especially the shuttle drivers. The balcony is a great idea! I will pass that along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 39 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Hotel & Suites

Property: Cambria Hotel & Suites
Address: 301 Reserve Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-4920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Cambria Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing