We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first experience with Cambria - A+!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambria Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“My first experience with Cambria - A+!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a relatively brand new hotel so it automatically wins points for looking extremely clean and updated. Large spacious suites with comfy beds. Staff are also extremely friendly and helpful. The location is a bit far from downtown but close to the hospital and a shuttle was provided for us in the morning. There is little breakfast area you can eat from in the morning, my only complaint is that it isn't complimentary, and the food is mediocre compared to places I've stayed where they offer included breakfast. The price /value is amazing for everything ($80) although I was on a corporate rate so your miles may vary. Anyway, this is my first time at a Cambria suites hotel and I will definitely try them out again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeviTrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! Did you know that the shuttle will take you downtown at no charge? Monday through Friday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    182
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
226
159
36
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here this past Saturday night while visiting with family. We got a great rate on the internet, and we were both very impressed with the facility. The hotel is fairly new (about 2 years), and we found it to be very clean. Our room was quite spacious.. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. we would definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwalters872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review! Please come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend. We got a great rate after signing up for Choice Rewards. The hotel is modern and the rooms are very spacious. The staff was friendly and the hotel is very close to he hospital and Mill Mountain. There were just a few small things we didn't like: the view from the pool area is train tracks and graffiti covered train cars, the rooms are a little dimly lit, and the hotel isn't the greatest location for downtown nightlife, but it's only a 5 min drive away. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and definitely would consider staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeltooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
As you stayed over a holiday our complimentary shuttle was not available - but we offer service to downtown Monday through Friday until 11PM. Roanoke is a railroad town and children love the trains - I am sorry that you didn't appreciate them, but glad that you enjoyed your stay otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here driving up 81. Nice modern hotel, open concept lobby and bar/restaurant. Clean rooms. Had a king and sofa bed for kids (which was not very comfy) because they were out of rooms with 2 queens. We will get 2 queens next time. Pool is a bit small for anything other than splashing around.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelwithabook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review! Unfortunately we do have a limited number of rooms with 2 queen beds so book early!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I arrived late, on a holiday weekend while a wedding party was celebrating...usually I would expect the worst. But this hotel was so lovely. The staff went out of their way to be helpful - from greeting me at the door and helping me find the best rate to the wonderful bartender, everyone was like family. The rooms are clean, modern and really spacious. Even with a mediocre pizza order from the restaurant, I have to give it 5 stars.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank flaggster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Our staff is our greatest asset! Our goal is to make you feel like family and I am so glad that we succeded!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I was VERY IMPRESSED with this all suite hotel. Everything from the decor to the technology and other amenities was the best I've ever seen. Beds are very comfy, rooms are laid out well, and hotel staff is excellent. These rooms accommodate the business traveler and leisure traveler well! Very modern and classy. Spacious parking outside and under building parking as well. There are too many good things to write here. I refuse to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julaws4661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
YAY! Just what we strive for! Please come back again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
313 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I booked this room on Hotwire and what a deal! The only issue I had was Hotwire listed "free breakfast" and when I went down after a great night sleep and a super hot shower there was a sigh that it was a charge of $9.50 for the buffet. I asked the lady working the area and she said no free breakfast but check at the front desk, I went there and was told the same thing. I had to pull up the hotwire reservation to show her before she finally gave me a coupon to cover the cost. It was not really that big of a deal to me but if you were with kids it is huge! The room was wonderful with fridge and microwave. They have garage parking with is nice or you can park outside. They even have bikes to rent as they are near a wonderful walk/bike path. Great place, don't overlook this gem!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glendale215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I am happy that the staff gave you the breakfast voucher and we have corrected the error with Hotwire as breakfast is not generally included in our rates. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Hotel & Suites

Property: Cambria Hotel & Suites
Address: 301 Reserve Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-4920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cambria Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing