We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel for travellers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambria Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
perth, west oz
Level Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great hotel for travellers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

After seeing all the previous reviews, we followed suit, on route from Washington DC to Nashville, & were not disappointed! Beautiful, clean, well equipped hotel for a one night stopover! All the things you need, great service at dinner & breakfast (extras), comfy beds, warm shower, good gym with well maintained equipment, free parking & quick check out. Situated near a train line, but we didn't hear any noise. Great value at $139US +tax.

Room Tip: we asked of a room at the front, away from the train line, but not sure if this is needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budgetbudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay! As our hotel is so close to the trains we are fortunate that construction took that into consideration and the hotel is well insulated. The only complaint that we usually get is from little boys who do not hear the noise that they WANT to hear. thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    183
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
228
161
36
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
nc
Level Contributor
212 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

my wife and i stayed at cambria-roanoke in november 2012. it is basically a suite-type hotel with an ultramodern and airy lobby/lounge. if i am understanding the chain's concept correctly, it is to achieve success by "trying a little harder" than the rest. they mostly succeed. staff was friendly and helpful. the rooms are indeed large and ours was clean without exception. do you really need two televisions (trying too hard)? the bathroom is well-equipped but we prefer a sink outside the toilet area. good selection of tea and coffee with maker, microwave, small frig. nice television channel lineup with easy remote. outdoor or underground parking. pool and gym areas are kept neat. many reviewers have commented on the cleanliness and upkeep but keep in mind that this is a new hotel...time will tell. the location, essentially in the middle of a large parking and train clearing, is convenient to the highway and the medical school but it is not in the downtown area. you will need a car for meals, etc. our only real concern is that breakfast is not usually included and purchasing can bump the price up quite a bit (i believe $9-10/person)...get this straight and in writing before arrival. otherwise, you will likely enjoy this hotel and its amenities.

Room Tip: any room away from the first floor public and pool/gym areas will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We DO try harder! Even though we are not in downtown - we are 1 mile away and we offer a complimentary shuttle within 5 mile radius Monday through Friday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great hotel especially when you consider the price. The room was spacious and modern and the beds were great. Good location for walking or running. The hotels provide bikes that can be used to ride along the Roanoke River trail. The bar/lounge area is very open with natural lighting and good views. We will definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2slivingstons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the review! Please come stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Modern and very clean. Easy to get to, IF you follow directions and look at maps. No breakfast included, but room price was so reasonable that didn't matter. Tried to go out and find a place to have dinner close by, ended up driving around in circles and became very frustrated. Returned to the hotel, they have a small restaurant in the lobby. Ate there, is was surprisingly good and reasonably priced. The Chicken Alfredo pizza was divine. Everything was clean and up-dated, a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK2OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
You are correct that Roanoke can be difficult to get "around" every thing goes in a circle! But I am very happy that you enjoyed your dinner once you found your way back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel it self is good, quite new and clean. Personally i love having the possibility to go running straight from the hotel and to a park or forest near by. From this hotel you can go running up several paths on the near by "Star mountain" or what it is called. You have to do a few hundred meters along side some roads past the hospital near by, but nothing to dangerous.

The bar and restaurant is ok and the breakfast to except it was not included.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mostad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the location to Mill Mountain and the Roanoke Greenways. Now that the weather is cooler you might enjoy the state of the art fitness center or bike rentals on site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, close to everything, great service, spacious rooms and comfortable beds. My only complaint is they need more lighting in the room, but otherwise a great place. I will be staying there again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scross9475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne L, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Sorry I missed this and thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I had reservations with my son for a soccer tournament in town and about 100 miles out of town something told me to call and confirm our reservation. Well guess what, the entire teams reservations had been cancelled. No call or follow-up e-mail and not looking good at all. They said they would put us in a hotel down the street but by time I got there no rooms were available so I've been up since 0400 and it's 2300 at night and I'm not real happy. At this point you want to scream but the ladies working the desk made a terrible situation good by treating us like guests. They got us a room about 15 miles from town and paid for it (won't bore u with that place) and they were able to get us in the next night. Pat, Maggie, and the rest of the ladies went over and beyond to right a bad situation. Not happy with sales cancelling our reservation but what can you do. I will return to the Cambria Suites based on our treatment from the front desk!!! Awesome. The hotel is really nice, well-decorated, and have some great food and drink. You will need a car to go out to eat though. The area isn't bad, just nothing around except the hospital. A lot of restaurants within a 5-minute drive. They need to work out their cancellation communication but the front desk couldn't have been better!!! Thanks again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room ending in 11, its an end room and had a separate bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinEvertonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynneLaidlaw, General Manager at Cambria Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments on our staff! We are indeed fortunate to have them! We took this experience with the group cancellation as a learning experience and will always send individual cancellations as a result!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
3.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Roanoke
Hyatt Place Roanoke
#9 of 40 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Hotel & Suites

Property: Cambria Hotel & Suites
Address: 301 Reserve Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-4920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Cambria Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing