We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Service and Accomodations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambria Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cambria Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Roanoke
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent Service and Accomodations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel a number of times over the last few months. It is a relatively new hotel and is impeccably maintained. The rooms are quite spacious and well furnished for the relatively low cost and the beds are very comfortable. (Very important to me)

There are many things to like about the Cambria Suites in Roanoke but most important is the people who work there. They don't overstaff so hopefully those savings are passed onto the consumer but this means that the staff must wear multiple hats. Everyone I've come across is always pleasant, accommodating, and genuinely wants to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

I highly recommend you have a bite to eat in the restaurant and say hello to Jill who is the primary bartender/waitress for the restaurant. She's always friendly, outgoing, and does a stellar job running the restaurant. (I've never seen a person work harder)

Also, hopefully, when you check in, you'll get a chance to speak with Marie. She's always very friendly and gets you checked in quickly and efficiently. As my plans changed multiple times on my last couple trips at the last minute, I was very fortunate that Marie was there to help me each time. She is really on top of the whole front desk of the hotel.

These are just 2 of the stellar employees at the Cambria Suites but there are many more. If you're making your way through the Roanoke Valley, this is a great place to crash for a night or two at an affordable cost.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMorrisMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    181
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
226
159
36
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

My husband had a recent business trip in Roanoke, VA and the kids and I tagged along. We made reservations at Cambria Suites because we have three children and the rooms are large enough so that all 5 of us could stay there comfortably. The room was large, perfectly cleaned, and very modern with two large size flat-screen tvs. The kids really enjoyed the hotel pool. The hotel staff is really friendly and helpful. They have a shuttle service that will take you anywhere in Roanoke. The driver even offered to take me and the kids to the Mill Mountain Zoo when we asked the front desk for directions. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Thanks Cambria Suites!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Our3s0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed for 4 days to attend an event in the Roanoke area. The hotel was very clean, our room was cleaned early in the day and was spotless, the hotel was quiet and the beds were very comfortable. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Appleway_Farm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Our family stayed here for one night in early June. We arrived late in the day so we appreciated the quick check-in and the covered parking available. We had booked a two bedroom suite, and there was plenty of room in our unit. One bedroom had complete privacy with a door that shut; the other was separated by a half-wall from the seating area and the rest of the suite. The bathroom was located just by the entrance door, which meant that people in both bedrooms had a short walk through the unit to get there. As mentioned in another review, we found the room to be dark; it was difficult to read in the sitting area in the evening. It was nice to have the fridge to keep drinks cool for the next day.

Since we had had a long driving day and there is nothing within walking distance of this hotel, we opted to eat at the restaurant at the Cambria rather than to pile back in the car and find somewhere to have dinner. The service was good, and our food was well prepared. As we were finishing, some other diners came in and were told that, due to a problem with the stove, they could order cold selections only. The server said the engineer was working on the problem, which made that an extremely fast maintenance response--our meals had been served only 30 minutes before this.

Our room was very quiet, and we had a good night's sleep. We chose not to purchase breakfast at the hotel, since the choices for a quick meal were limited and we needed to get started. Check out was efficient. The access to the interstate was very easy from this location. All in all, this hotel was well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TxOffWeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

My wife and I just spent a few days at this new (just over one year old) property. On the whole, the hotel was fine but there are some issues that need to be addressed by management.
On the plus side...the location is great, the rooms and public spaces are immaculate, the staff is extremely friendly and very helpful (a request for additional towels was taken care of in less than five minutes), check-in and check-out were handled well for the most part (see below) and the indoor pool and exercise facility are first rate.
As for the "needs some work" items...when I made my on-line reservation I requested a quiet location away from the elevators and vending areas. The first room that was assigned to us was DIRECTLY in front of the elevators. While the front desk was quick to apologize and immediately change our room, it appears that the request was overlooked. The rooms need more light. Even with all the lamps and fixtures on, the room was dim. And, the closet could REALLY use a light. You can not adjust the fan speed in the HVAC unit. It's either on or it's off. No low, medium or high setting is possible. This seems very unusual especially in such a new property and it may be an issue for light sleepers. The breakfast buffet was adequate but for $9.50 per person, there should have been more of a selection. And my biggest gripe...after breakfast is over you must PAY for a cup of coffee or tea! I haven't been in a hotel in years (regardless of price point) that didn't have an all-day free coffee service. This policy should be revisited. Perhaps Cambria should follow the example set by Staybridge Suites.
In summary, more ups than downs. I'd stay here again because of the location, cleanliness and great staff but I hope by then, management addresses some of my concerns.

Room Tip: Confirm room location on day of arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

This hotel is only about a year old, so everything is still in great condition. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Lovely cafe, and they had a nice breakfast buffet in the morning, for a fee. We used the indoor pool and hot tub, which were both great. The location is close to downtown, but not in downtown, so you are close to some neat shops and restaurants. This hotel is way better than staying at some of the classic hotels in this area, which are very dated.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kermit320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Great place to stay. Rooms were nice, staff was very friendly. Probably best hotel I have stayed in. Cost was more than other hotels in area but the price was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dec1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roanoke hotels
1.3 mi away
The Hotel Roanoke & Conference Center, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Roanoke Airport
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Hotel & Suites

Property: Cambria Hotel & Suites
Address: 301 Reserve Ave SW, Roanoke, VA 24016-4920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Roanoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Romantic Hotel in Roanoke
#2 Family Hotel in Roanoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Cambria Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Roanoke Hotel Roanoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing