We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can certainly find better Chinese food for the price.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Red Palace Tanglewood
Ranked #149 of 467 Restaurants in Roanoke
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“You can certainly find better Chinese food for the price.”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My family is a huge fan of Chinese buffets--it was our Sunday after church tradition growing up: cheap chicken smothered in a mystery sauce, veggies cooked to the brink of edible, and fried foods out the wazoo, but somehow it all tasted amazing. When my husband and I stepped into Red Palace, it was the opposite. There is a small selection of old, stale dishes. The fried food all tasted the same as it was piled into one serving dish together. The lo mein even had a distinct cardboard flavor. Though the service was friendly compared to typical buffet style, the food was simple not worth the twenty dollars we spent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTwoSkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    11
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Typical Chinese Buffet”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Red Palace offer a fairly typical Chinese Buffet. The food is decent, and probably one of the best Chinese Buffet's in the area. It is fairly expensive, in my opinion, for a buffet. For a family of five, I walk out paying around $65 dollars (with kids 10, 13 and 16) and only one of us having a soda - the other's having waters. For that much, I just prefer not to have to get up and down for my food. They do offer some high end entrees, including a shrimp and vegetables in a light sauce, which is my personal favorite and I certainly attempt to get my money's worth while I'm there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank redelaneymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GOOD QUALITY”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I visit my family in Roanoke few times a year, and I always go to this restaurant every time I visit. I like the food they serve ( fresh and tasteful).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Got food poisoning here”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

And the kitchen is filthy. I wouldn't (actually, I don't think I can, b/c the thought of the place brings back food poisoning) go back again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boones Mill, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GreatestChinese In Roanoke”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I loved everything and disliked nothing. The buffet is great The regular menu is terrific the service and staff are wonderful. I highly recommend the Red Palace.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Palace Tanglewood also viewed

 

Been to Red Palace Tanglewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing