We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Roanoke
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
242
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
242
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skyline room guest kitchen bed and breakfast bamboo sheets wonderful hosts b b's one night every amenity kitchen area first floor great conversation fire pit spent two nights the blue ridge parkway cookies top floor place to stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Inn can over be described as warm and inviting reflective of its hosts, Jayne and Chris. Our room was luxurious though very comfortable , a perfect place to relax, read a book, drink a glass of wine or beer or just nap. Breakfast was delicious accompanied by great conversations with Jayne and Chris. It was the last night of our vacation heading home and we wish we had more time. We definitely will return to the black Lantern Inn

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank travelinggirl1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your review, and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2019

This B&B was awesome exceeded our expectations on our second anniversary trip week! Chris, Jayne and Jax (the sweet and happy poodle) were so nice to meet and eat breakfast with! The room was VERY nice and TOP NOTCH detail. The breakfast was VERY VERY GOOD! If you want a EXTREMELY NICE place to stay for one or more nights, you will not go wrong staying here. Thank you Chris, Jayne and Jax for a VERY enjoyable stay, DELUXE++ accommodations and super delicious breakfast !!!

Room tip: Can't beat this B&B!
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2019

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you sometime again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2019 via mobile

We spent (sadly only) one night at the Black Lantern. We loved it! A special mention for the upstairs deck with heater where we enjoyed a glass of wine chatting to our host Chris. Our room was comfortable (great bed!) and there was a mini kitchen with everything we needed plus milk when we asked for it to put in our (British tea). The welcome was warm, hospitable and really welcoming. BLI is well situated and walking distance from the town. Chris and Jayne gave us a local dinner recommendation that was spot on! Really good food at Evie’s Bistro & Bakery - and a homely crowd - again we were made to feel really welcome. So far, despite stiff competition, the BLI was really my favourite place to stay in the region.

Breakfast was sublime with maple cream and fruit to start (indescribably delicious) followed by pumpkin flour pancakes with bacon & sausage with pecan syrup and maple syrup.

And Jacky, the tiny toy poodle was an absolute delight - what a well-trained dog and so sweet. L

We really, really enjoyed staying there - the quality of the conversation was as good as the accommodation! Thoughtful & interesting. Ask to see the photos of the development of the inn itself- again, a fascinating and uplifting story! Many thanks to Chris and Jayne - that was special!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Prehistoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2019

We very much appreciate this review, and wish you'd had the opportunity to stay longer. Have a safe trip home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2019

My husband and I stayed the night at the Black Lantern Inn and would hope to stay here again! The Inn is very welcoming, thanks to Chris, Jayne and Jax (their pup) and extremely comfortable. The room we stayed in was quite large with a very comfortable bed, seating areas, linens and bathroom. Our breakfast was a delicious assortment of fresh organic fruit with organic yogurt and fresh pastries. We found this to be an excellent choice for our journey along the Blue Ridge Parkway and will definitely stay here again when in this area. Thank you Chris and Jayne!

Room tip: Top floor room was delightful!
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2019

Our thanks to you as well! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit - have a safe trip back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2019 via mobile

Mt wife and I were pampered for 3 days in a wonderful upscale B&B. The hosts were warm and flexible. The place was spotless and ver well decorated. The breakfast served on the porch was awesome as the sun rose above the Star. Delicate presentation and delicious treats! The outside is spacious if you want to hang out after a long day of riding. The trails are right around the corner. If someone gets injured, the pillows and mattress are just what you need! I hope to come back soon.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 3guiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to write this nice review. Hope to see you both again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews