We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Roanoke
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
240
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
240
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skyline room guest kitchen bed and breakfast bamboo sheets wonderful hosts b b's one night every amenity kitchen area first floor fire pit the blue ridge parkway spent two nights top floor place to stay mill mountain star cookies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 245 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2019 via mobile

We spent (sadly only) one night at the Black Lantern. We loved it! A special mention for the upstairs deck with heater where we enjoyed a glass of wine chatting to our host Chris. Our room was comfortable (great bed!) and there was a mini kitchen with everything we needed plus milk when we asked for it to put in our (British tea). The welcome was warm, hospitable and really welcoming. BLI is well situated and walking distance from the town. Chris and Jayne gave us a local dinner recommendation that was spot on! Really good food at Evie’s Bistro & Bakery - and a homely crowd - again we were made to feel really welcome. So far, despite stiff competition, the BLI was really my favourite place to stay in the region.

Breakfast was sublime with maple cream and fruit to start (indescribably delicious) followed by pumpkin flour pancakes with bacon & sausage with pecan syrup and maple syrup.

And Jacky, the tiny toy poodle was an absolute delight - what a well-trained dog and so sweet. L

We really, really enjoyed staying there - the quality of the conversation was as good as the accommodation! Thoughtful & interesting. Ask to see the photos of the development of the inn itself- again, a fascinating and uplifting story! Many thanks to Chris and Jayne - that was special!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Prehistoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2019

We very much appreciate this review, and wish you'd had the opportunity to stay longer. Have a safe trip home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2019

My husband and I stayed the night at the Black Lantern Inn and would hope to stay here again! The Inn is very welcoming, thanks to Chris, Jayne and Jax (their pup) and extremely comfortable. The room we stayed in was quite large with a very comfortable bed, seating areas, linens and bathroom. Our breakfast was a delicious assortment of fresh organic fruit with organic yogurt and fresh pastries. We found this to be an excellent choice for our journey along the Blue Ridge Parkway and will definitely stay here again when in this area. Thank you Chris and Jayne!

Room tip: Top floor room was delightful!
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2019

Our thanks to you as well! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit - have a safe trip back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2019 via mobile

Mt wife and I were pampered for 3 days in a wonderful upscale B&B. The hosts were warm and flexible. The place was spotless and ver well decorated. The breakfast served on the porch was awesome as the sun rose above the Star. Delicate presentation and delicious treats! The outside is spacious if you want to hang out after a long day of riding. The trails are right around the corner. If someone gets injured, the pillows and mattress are just what you need! I hope to come back soon.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 3guiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to write this nice review. Hope to see you both again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2019 via mobile

We visited this charming B and B as part of our USA road trip. The inn is located right off the blue ridge parkway and has easy access to downtown Roanoke and an easy drive to mill mountain to visit the famous star.
Whichever room you choose to stay in you will not be disappointed, all decorated to the highest standard and equipped with everything you could need. Also available is a guest kitchen providing a fridge tea coffee and snacks. There are ample gorgeous places to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine whilst you chat to other guests.
We were welcomed to the inn by the owners Chris and Jane and not forgetting their fur baby Jaxx.
We were treat to the most fantastic homemade southern cooking on each morning and it’s inspired me to try out some of the sweet potato pancakes here in the uk.
Chris and Jane make sure your visit to Roanoke is perfect with info on local places of interest maps and restaurant suggestions their hospitality is second to non. Thankfully we chose to stay here but the best decision was staying two nights.
Our chats around the breakfast table with them and other guests was so enjoyable and we left feeling like they were old friends.
Thankyou Chris Jane and Jaxx

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank rakehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2019

Thanks for your wonderful comments. We so enjoyed having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2019 via mobile

We were upgraded to the skyline suite due to a cancellation. This is a wonderful upmarket bed and breakfast from decor to bamboo sheets and organic home made breakfast. We felt truly pampered staying here. The hosts were so friendly and full of advice and recommendation. The 3 rooms share a kitchen and balcony overlooking the Roanoak star that can be seen lit up at night. We walked into downtown (about 20 mins) and would definitely recommend this b&b

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2019

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed your company!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews