We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
240
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
240
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skyline room guest kitchen bed and breakfast bamboo sheets wonderful hosts b b's one night every amenity kitchen area first floor fire pit the blue ridge parkway spent two nights top floor place to stay mill mountain star cookies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 245 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2019 via mobile

We visited this charming B and B as part of our USA road trip. The inn is located right off the blue ridge parkway and has easy access to downtown Roanoke and an easy drive to mill mountain to visit the famous star.
Whichever room you choose to stay in you will not be disappointed, all decorated to the highest standard and equipped with everything you could need. Also available is a guest kitchen providing a fridge tea coffee and snacks. There are ample gorgeous places to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine whilst you chat to other guests.
We were welcomed to the inn by the owners Chris and Jane and not forgetting their fur baby Jaxx.
We were treat to the most fantastic homemade southern cooking on each morning and it’s inspired me to try out some of the sweet potato pancakes here in the uk.
Chris and Jane make sure your visit to Roanoke is perfect with info on local places of interest maps and restaurant suggestions their hospitality is second to non. Thankfully we chose to stay here but the best decision was staying two nights.
Our chats around the breakfast table with them and other guests was so enjoyable and we left feeling like they were old friends.
Thankyou Chris Jane and Jaxx

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank rakehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2019

Thanks for your wonderful comments. We so enjoyed having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2019 via mobile

We were upgraded to the skyline suite due to a cancellation. This is a wonderful upmarket bed and breakfast from decor to bamboo sheets and organic home made breakfast. We felt truly pampered staying here. The hosts were so friendly and full of advice and recommendation. The 3 rooms share a kitchen and balcony overlooking the Roanoak star that can be seen lit up at night. We walked into downtown (about 20 mins) and would definitely recommend this b&b

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2019

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We enjoyed your company!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

We stayed here for one night recently.

Our hosts, Chris & Jayne, were really nice and inviting.

The bedroom where we stayed was in the top floor. - the Skyline Room. We had our own bathroom and sitting area. (worth checking - because the Roanoke room's bath is in the hall) Our room was spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. It would be a great room if you were looking for a place to stay for a few days - had room to stretch out & had a nice sized closet. The overall building was really nice - very solid well designed and quiet.

Breakfast was great. Jayne made a "southern breakfast" of strawberry soup (think southern version of strawberry sorbet with fresh fruit- DELICIOUS!) Also had fresh biscuits with choice of baked spiced apples, sausage gravy or pimento cheese. All we delicious and homemade!

Grounds were very nice with a fire pit (though too hot to have fire when we were there), a wooden swing, nice area to lounge outside and visit with other guests. There is also a nice balcony on the main floor for guests. We actually had breakfast on that balcony.

Location allows for a brisk walk to downtown or short drive. Downtown area of Roanoke has lots of restaurants and bars and some shopping.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay

Room tip: ask if you have ensuite bathroom
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rwb1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2019

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time here. Hope the rest of your trip goes well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2019

I grew up in Roanoke and I have been delighted to see some lovely changes because it is such a natural beauty spot . The best Black Lantern B&B is one of many nice additions to old Southwest Roanoke, the beautiful walking trail down by the Roanoke River that now has sculpture along the way, the market in downtown seems to be thriving with not only good stores but many people living in converted lofts. It’s great to see this beauty spot polished !

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Navigator636279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2019

Glad you found the City and the Inn so delightful. Hope you get back someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Black Lantern Inn on our way down to Asheville from NJ. We were so impressed with the hosts and the accommodations that we booked another night on our return trip back to NJ. The room was very spacious, quiet and was decorated with upscale furnishings. Every element is 5*’s.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank johncD6774BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-Jayne-A, Owner at Black Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019

Thanks for these comments... see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews